We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value,Very Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Value,Very Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Got a deal on late rooms at the last minute. Bed comfy, Plenty of Parking. You could have had two children in our room too so can't beat the value if you have a family. We both got a good sleep
Looked at menu beer seems expensive at 3.60 a pint but prices for food seem ok .Breakfast if you have a room only deal 7.50
We'd definitely stay here again if in area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FalmouthLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    356
    154
    49
    28
See reviews for
434
297
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here twice now, both times the price has been excellent and the room very clean and tidy. The receptionist's always seem to be a little on the quiet side but are pleasant and polite. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is never going to be a five star hotel, we came here expecting basics and probably some tat, we were wrong.

We booked the bottom of the range family room for my family, the hotel is being used purely as a over night stop en route to London. We got here around midnight, the night porter made checking in a easy and friendly affair. On entering the room we were amazed by the space and the fact the sofa bed had already been made up for us, something you don't find in a lot of extremely more expensive hotels. The bed is quite firm, but still comfortable. Great telly, tea and coffee and it has a proper sized bath in the clean and again well proportioned bath room. They also give free parking in a age were everything is potential revenue generation. I am extremely pleased we have come here and I now want to come back to this hotel for a Lon weekend to explore the area. Thank you woo key for not letting us down

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel, although only a motel style hotel was excellent value for money, we stayed for four nights on their Halloween package, this included the room, buffet breakfast, visit to the witches grotto, admission to the caves, crazy golf, soft play area, circus performance and pennies to spend in the arcade every day. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and with more than enough hot drinks to go round. The food in the restaurant was well priced and very tasty, the staff were accommodating and friendly and remembered the childrens names which pleased them greatly. All of the staff throughout our stay were dressed in Halloween costumes. We had many plans to visit other attractions throughout our stay but we never left the site as the children had so much to do and just wanted to keep repeating what they had done as they were enjoying themselves so much - we went on the cave tour so much our nine year old could repeat it word for word! The only slight quibble we had was on Halloween night there was a ticket only Halloween party (we could have bought tickets) but we wasn't told until we tried to go to the restaurant for dinner that it was closed to the public, staff suggested we go to the pub in the village which was also closed for a private party so we then had to drive to find somewhere to eat - just a small suggestion - offer sandwiches and chips or something simple for guests within the bar area of the hotel. Other than that brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

As part of the 2013 Santaland event we spent one night on Saturday 29th November within the witches hat VIP suite room 29 which is located at the far end of the Wookey hole hotel and has views out towards the Wookey hole attraction and the surrounding countryside.

Wookey hole hotel is located adjacent to the main Wookey hole visitors attraction and contains several different grades of accommodation all of which of based around the theme of the Wookey hole witch.

The witches hat suite is the circular two storey room located on the far left hand site of the hotel complex, which contains a toilet / wet area and double bed at first floor level and a sofa bed and tea making facilities at ground floor level.

The concept, construction and theming of the room was faultless although at the time of our visit it did show signs of requiring some routine maintenance to address general wear and tear to walls and doors, whilst the sofa bed appears to have been severally damaged by a previous occupant.

As the hotel was fully booked during our stay breakfast was served in captain Jacks restaurant which is located within the main resort complex and is accessed via a circa 5 minute walk across the car park, although this was not an issue for us it may be an inconvenience during inclement weather or for the elderly.

As part of the Santaland package we sampled the self service continental breakfast which was unlikely to win any awards, but was perfectly adequate..

As part of a visit to Wookey hole or as a stand alone hotel we would have no issues recommending the Wookey hotel hotel

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Witches hat suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Wookey Hole Hotel was the big surprise on my recent trip to Wells and Glastonbury.... Compared to other hotels that I've visited in the area, the Wookey was clean, modern, convenient, friendly, accessible, and affordable. I expected an amusement park and the Wookey does make a special effort to attract families with young children. Still, as a senior citizen, I was comfortable with the Wookey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We booked the witchs hat for a night,the room was great but there was a problem with the heating the room was very cold,but the duty manager was brilliant she sorted it all out and we a good nite and a lovey breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CORNISHBIKER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing