We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, comfortable, helpful staff”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed twice in December whilst visiting Wells. Lovely area. Room is comparable to a premier inn only issue was no mobile signal on ground floor room upstairs was ok. Breakfast is better if you opt for vegetarian.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Wookey Hole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived at wookey hole on Saturday morning for my 4 year old sons santaland experience. We got in the queue for the ticket office (our confirmation told us to get our tickets from the ticket office or hotel reception) after queuing for half an hour we were told we had to get them from reception. Bit annoying but off we popped to get our tickets from reception. While there I asked the guy behind reception about our evening meal. At the time of booking I was lead to believe our evening meal was included ("evening meal will be served in the big top resturant") I was informed this was not the case and that it wasn't worded very well,it was just informing you of where you could eat!!!! Thinking we were paying a price that included this I don't think we got value for money at all. So we ended up booking a table. The cave tour was good although staff seemed to just want to get it over and done with. The circus was by far the best part of the day. The 2 guys who host it are very funny. Queued for an hour and a half to see santa,trying to keep a 4 year old entertained for that long is no mean feat.Apart from all the queuing the experience at wookey was ok.
We checked into the hotel and was plesantly surprised. We booked a basic family room and it was spotless.Sofabed was already made up and plenty of room although there was a flourescent yellow stain on the quilt cover. We went to the bar & get our drinks & enquired about our table only to be told it was in the big top resturant in wookey hole and the bar doesn't serve food weekend evenings. There are a few places to eat & all a bit confusing.Got there and they were only serving christmas dinners. Luckily they were doing the usual kids food but if we had have known it was only carvery for adults we'd have driven somewhere else. Food was good non the less. Arriving back at the hotel and getting ready for bed all we could hear were kids running around. The walls certainly are paper thin and wouldn't really bother me but it was all night. That combined with the 3am wake up call from a couple having a domestic in the corridor. We upgraded to to a full english breakfast and wish we hadnt bothered,not particularly nice and you get what they give you.Its not help yourself.Just a few little things adding up that made this a bit of a rubbish stay.Unfortunatley we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Got a deal on late rooms at the last minute. Bed comfy, Plenty of Parking. You could have had two children in our room too so can't beat the value if you have a family. We both got a good sleep
Looked at menu beer seems expensive at 3.60 a pint but prices for food seem ok .Breakfast if you have a room only deal 7.50
We'd definitely stay here again if in area

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalmouthLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here twice now, both times the price has been excellent and the room very clean and tidy. The receptionist's always seem to be a little on the quiet side but are pleasant and polite. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is never going to be a five star hotel, we came here expecting basics and probably some tat, we were wrong.

We booked the bottom of the range family room for my family, the hotel is being used purely as a over night stop en route to London. We got here around midnight, the night porter made checking in a easy and friendly affair. On entering the room we were amazed by the space and the fact the sofa bed had already been made up for us, something you don't find in a lot of extremely more expensive hotels. The bed is quite firm, but still comfortable. Great telly, tea and coffee and it has a proper sized bath in the clean and again well proportioned bath room. They also give free parking in a age were everything is potential revenue generation. I am extremely pleased we have come here and I now want to come back to this hotel for a Lon weekend to explore the area. Thank you woo key for not letting us down

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel, although only a motel style hotel was excellent value for money, we stayed for four nights on their Halloween package, this included the room, buffet breakfast, visit to the witches grotto, admission to the caves, crazy golf, soft play area, circus performance and pennies to spend in the arcade every day. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and with more than enough hot drinks to go round. The food in the restaurant was well priced and very tasty, the staff were accommodating and friendly and remembered the childrens names which pleased them greatly. All of the staff throughout our stay were dressed in Halloween costumes. We had many plans to visit other attractions throughout our stay but we never left the site as the children had so much to do and just wanted to keep repeating what they had done as they were enjoying themselves so much - we went on the cave tour so much our nine year old could repeat it word for word! The only slight quibble we had was on Halloween night there was a ticket only Halloween party (we could have bought tickets) but we wasn't told until we tried to go to the restaurant for dinner that it was closed to the public, staff suggested we go to the pub in the village which was also closed for a private party so we then had to drive to find somewhere to eat - just a small suggestion - offer sandwiches and chips or something simple for guests within the bar area of the hotel. Other than that brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

As part of the 2013 Santaland event we spent one night on Saturday 29th November within the witches hat VIP suite room 29 which is located at the far end of the Wookey hole hotel and has views out towards the Wookey hole attraction and the surrounding countryside.

Wookey hole hotel is located adjacent to the main Wookey hole visitors attraction and contains several different grades of accommodation all of which of based around the theme of the Wookey hole witch.

The witches hat suite is the circular two storey room located on the far left hand site of the hotel complex, which contains a toilet / wet area and double bed at first floor level and a sofa bed and tea making facilities at ground floor level.

The concept, construction and theming of the room was faultless although at the time of our visit it did show signs of requiring some routine maintenance to address general wear and tear to walls and doors, whilst the sofa bed appears to have been severally damaged by a previous occupant.

As the hotel was fully booked during our stay breakfast was served in captain Jacks restaurant which is located within the main resort complex and is accessed via a circa 5 minute walk across the car park, although this was not an issue for us it may be an inconvenience during inclement weather or for the elderly.

As part of the Santaland package we sampled the self service continental breakfast which was unlikely to win any awards, but was perfectly adequate..

As part of a visit to Wookey hole or as a stand alone hotel we would have no issues recommending the Wookey hotel hotel

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Witches hat suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileyA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
311 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing