We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Wells, Cheddar and Glastonbury ..... Friendly staff”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just back from a great, short break. Was greeted by Vicky who was extremely friendly and helpful, in fact I don't think she could have slept much as she was always on the front desk every time we went passed it! Room 5 was very quiet and had a good, powerful over the bath shower. Only draw back was when we ate in the restaurant it was very noisy due to all the kids, but it is a child friendly hotel, so have to expect that some parents aren't able to control their children and make them behave at the dinner table!

Room Tip: Room 5 on the ground floor was perfectly adequate, had a comfy bed, good shower and we weren't d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsbells12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

hotel rooms cannot be faulted, as Travelodge style basic but oh so much is down to the housekeeper, who is hands on even with a paintbrush ! and made us a drink in café as reception male refused and tried to send us to attraction to get drink.
did not. eat here.

Room Tip: great housekeeping team ,shame about reception (male)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our two children for one night whilst visiting family.We booked a family room It was a lovely big room very clean and warm. The full English breakfast was fantastic. The staff were nice and friendly would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Myself & my toddler stayed here for 2 nights whilst taking in Wookey Hole & the surrounding area. Overall I was pleased with the price & it was a nice comfortable stay. Free wifi was a bonus & my boy enjoyed meeting the witch both mornings! We ate in the bistro both nights & whilst the food was fine I would have preferred to find a local eatery really. The hotel lacks a bit more of a bar area & could do with a park in its grounds for the children. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuhubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This new hotel is still clean and tidy and in a good location for the Wookey Hole attractions. The restaurant is small but the staff seemed under pressure during dinner. Our superior family room was large and airy. The breakfast is adequate made acceptable by the visit of the Wookey Hole Witch. If you don't have children/grandchildren this hotel is not for you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank michealjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We requested 2 beds for the children as they were girl and boy teenagers and the hotel kindly accommodated this request. Reception, bar and housekeeping staff were friendly and very helpful especially when my son was ill. The stay was much more pleasant than a Premier Inn or Travelodge and we will definitely visit again in the near future. Free Wi-fi was a big bonus, especially as there appears to be no O2 reception in the area. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, the birdsong, dark sky at night and peacefulness is something to be revered. Thank you for a great break away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a low-key themed hotel: ugly old witch figure in the entrance to the reception, pretty young real witch greeting guests for breakfast at the entrance to the restaurant. Other than that, it can only be described as bland, with witch-print curtains in the room the one attempt to continue the theme. Not that we cared. We weren't travelling with children or there for the Wookey Hole caves, we were after a comfortable night's sleep. And we got it. Spacious, warm, very clean room, immaculate bathroom with bath, mod-cons like tv and wifi (although reception's not great). The staff were friendly and the parking free. All of this in one of the most picturesque areas in the English countryside. If I'm ever lucky enough to travel this way again, I'd certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
326 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
66 reviews
5.7 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range: £38 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing