We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wookey Hole”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wookey Hole”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean with a lovely view and it was very peaceful in the room even though there were many families staying in the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to families as it right next to the Caves and Attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    382
    173
    52
    33
See reviews for
466
331
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed overnight in the hotel and visited Wookey Hole caves etc. this was a lovely hotel where everyone was really helpful and amazingly friendly. Spotlessly clean with great size rooms, perfect for a visit to the caves. Would definitely return, especially for their special events. Breakfast was lovely!!! So pleased we chose this hotel it made our time away really relaxing and easy.

Room Tip: The hotel was really peaceful although clearly very busy during our stay, Front of hotel rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWPredditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our 4 and 8 year old for one night and first impressions are without doubt 'it's functional'. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy. The room we stayed in was larger than most (at additional cost) and had sufficient room for a double, a double sofa-bed and a single sofa-bed. You can see from every angle the hotel has been built on a tight budget and everything is cheap. That's not a problem currently as it's new but I can't see furnishing and equipment wearing very well, it won't be long before it's looking tired. The TV on the wall was small (not an issue), but why fix it at an angle? Soap in the bathroom is a bottle hanging on the wall (again thrown up at an angle) and it ran out! Attention to detail everywhere is average at best. The food in the restaurant was acceptable, nothing special but nothing more than average pub grub, in fairness similarly priced. When I pointed out my food order was incorrect I simply got a look of amazement, no other comment whatsoever. If you think motorway travel lodge you won't be disappointed and personally I'm not sure I could use the hotel as a base if staying in the area, however for a single night whilst visiting the caves it does the job.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just back from a great, short break. Was greeted by Vicky who was extremely friendly and helpful, in fact I don't think she could have slept much as she was always on the front desk every time we went passed it! Room 5 was very quiet and had a good, powerful over the bath shower. Only draw back was when we ate in the restaurant it was very noisy due to all the kids, but it is a child friendly hotel, so have to expect that some parents aren't able to control their children and make them behave at the dinner table!

Room Tip: Room 5 on the ground floor was perfectly adequate, had a comfy bed, good shower and we weren't d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbells12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

hotel rooms cannot be faulted, as Travelodge style basic but oh so much is down to the housekeeper, who is hands on even with a paintbrush ! and made us a drink in café as reception male refused and tried to send us to attraction to get drink.
did not. eat here.

Room Tip: great housekeeping team ,shame about reception (male)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticPeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our two children for one night whilst visiting family.We booked a family room It was a lovely big room very clean and warm. The full English breakfast was fantastic. The staff were nice and friendly would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Myself & my toddler stayed here for 2 nights whilst taking in Wookey Hole & the surrounding area. Overall I was pleased with the price & it was a nice comfortable stay. Free wifi was a bonus & my boy enjoyed meeting the witch both mornings! We ate in the bistro both nights & whilst the food was fine I would have preferred to find a local eatery really. The hotel lacks a bit more of a bar area & could do with a park in its grounds for the children. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuhubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing