We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Darton
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Heading to Cornwall, decided to break our journey overnight and stayed here at Wookey Hole Hotel. From the initial contact by phone, then at reception, to our meal, and subsequent departure, the staff where warm and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. The room was excellent and the bed very comfy - always a plus point in my book! Food well prepared and delicious. Well done to all - we will hopefully be back later this year and stay for a bit longer (and may even venture down to the Wookey Hole itself!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    364
    160
    50
    29
See reviews for
445
311
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel was basic, clean and quiet. We stayed in VIP room as we got a super price. It was cramped and not functional. The bed for our kids was a small bed sofa with a 1inch mattress. We had to ask for a cot as well as 2 older kids could not share as it was too small. Be aware of this as they don't say. The bathroom was a wet room, no bath. When we saw a family room we were upset we had not saved money and got this. We spent an uncomfortable night trying to watch tv whilel sat on the floor :(
We viewed it as an adventure, but not one we would repeat. Breakfast was a farce, as staff did not seem to know what they were doing. It was good for visiting the caves, and location but we would not return. It was not worth the money and asked to move rooms. We were told the Hotel was at capacity, however over heard one staff member saying they had plenty of spare rooms. Not cool!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pros; We stayed in room 55; a lovely spacious family room costing £85. Very clean with an 'OK' view! We arrived early (12 noon) and the staff were so lovely, they let us check in as our room was ready.
This hotel is an arm's reach from the caves and a £5 taxi journey to Wells (the staff will provide the number if you ask). The staff at the hotel gave us brief directions to the Tor at Glastonbury which was fantastic.

Cons; From 8am-10am there was a 'clunking' noise in our room, a bit like hot water pipes; very loud and ruining any chance of a lie in! This was frustrating as the king size bed was awful (very, very hard) so we slept on the pull out sofa in order to get a better sleep.
There aren't many facilities/attractions within walking distance (pub opposite was shut most of the day).


I would definitely stay here again, the cons to us are minor as the pros outweigh by far!

Room Tip: Room 55 had a 'clunking' noise from 8am-10am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shin_Chowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for one night during the Easter half-term so we could visit the caves.

I was actually planning on staying in a nearby Travelodge as I didn't actually realise that there was a hotel at Wookey Hole. When I found the hotel on Trip Advisor I was expecting it to be either full or stupidly expensive. I booked with Expedia on the Saturday before out Thursday night stay as to my surprise there was availability and it was cheaper that the Travelodge.

The biggest benefit though is that this hotel is seconds away from the entrance to the Wookey Hole attraction.

I'm guessing that the hotel is fairly new as all the public areas have bright clean walls and the room was no different. Granted that it was very basic but the room was large and clean. The sheets on the bed had that lovely fresh smell and felt crisp.

The bathroom was equipped for the job and they provided shower/bath gel in a bottle affixed to the wall.

The beds were comfortable and we all slept very well.

Given the number of children staying I was expecting the hotel to be very noisy. However, it was nice and quiet. The hotel is branded as a family hotel and families are definitely welcome.

The only disappointing feature of the stay was the breakfast. Yes, hotel breakfasts are expensive for what they are, especially if you go for the continental option. Which quite frankly just didn't seem worth it at all and the selection was poor. The Full English option, which I add did not include black pudding so I don't know if it counts as a full English (yes I am being a pedant), whilst plentiful seemed to have been entirely deep fried. The only redeeming factor was that it did set me up for the day and I didn't eat again until 3pm.

Would I stay here again, yes if I was visting Wookey Hole and the local area. Was it good value, yes. Were the staff pleasant and helpful, yes. Was the room clean, indeed it was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markfromessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my 3 children stayed here last night. Lovely rooms, balcony window, gorgeous views and attentive staff. The bathrooms were clean and you can tell it's a new hotel. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellahstruts2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked the hotel as a birthday getaway for our 8 year old. We booked the tower suite as an extra treat. We loved every minute from when we checked in till when we went home. The reception staff were friendly and knowledgable.

The room was fantastic, totally quirky and fun. Everything fits perfectly and is brilliant being the shape of the tower. The shower was perfect, warm, powerful and roomy. Everything was spotless and all matched in well.

We chose to eat in and the food was great. A lot is homemade and the rarebit with the cable ages cheddar was amazing. The food was very reasonably priced and there is a good choice. The breakfast the next morning which was included in our room rate was excellent. Really filling and cooked to perfection with quality ingredients. The continental option was good too.

I would recommend staying here to anyone it's great for kids and perfect for the caves and wells. Only slight criticism would be to make sure all staff are local as the warm West Country welcome is one of the reasons we go and an Eastern European accent doesn't work as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia_MPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Whilst the hotel was clean and tidy do not stay in room 8. Very very noisy right next to the stair well. Family room had a double bed and a sofa bed which could have been a bit better.
Didn't eat here didn't look to good just prepacked food. Breakfast quite expensive for a family with no offers.
Small bar area and restaurant quite small and did get busy. Worth a walk down the road to the pub.
Overall average hotel with friendly enough staff

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynorcritch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing