We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Witches Hat Room Dissapointing”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Witches Hat Room Dissapointing”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is basic, like and premier inn/travel lodge just more expensive. To describe the witches hat room as a VIP suite is a joke. Its a basic room with a poorly finished wet room. The double bed is on platform on the first floor accessed by a circular staircase. It has a low wall around it and the first thing our excited child did was get on the bed and look over the 14ft drop to the floor below. This is very dangerous and it would only take a moment for a child to climb up and fall to the lower floor. There is not enough room around the double bed for 2 bedside tables although I think one may have been moved so that its not possible for a child to climb onto. As the room had a tall window there were no net curtains as in the other rooms. The carpets were dirty. The tea and coffee facilities were on the ground floor level where the children sleep. The room had no special features, so not a relaxing stay in a VIP suite. The roof may well be shaped like a witches hat but internally you look up to a small loft hatch and a smoke alarm, no effort has been made to make this room special in anyway.
Otherwise the hotel staff were mostly pleasant except for Keith on reception who greeted us with a shrug and told us check in wasn't until 3pm. Most of the other staff were fine, the evening meal was good and the breakfast was good but incredibly slow to arrive and we only had to complain 3 times. The witch was really nice and she seemed to be trying to help with some of the complaints but she wasn't able to magic up the breakfast any quicker.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony looked better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    364
    160
    50
    29
See reviews for
445
311
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable but very basic. Its a little like Travel lodge. We had a one night stay on our way to Cornwall, the room was clean and the main bed comfortable but the sofa bed for our 13 year old boys was far from adequate and very uncomfortable, thats why I have marked the sleep rating down. The bar area lacked any kind of atmosphere or decent beers so we decided to explore outside of the hotel and found a nice pub called the Wookey Hole Inn. Good beer, well looked after with a nice atmosphere. Back to the Hotel. Breakfast was good but conversely a little expensive at £8+ each. The service we received was fine but a little starchy when we arrived but good on departure. As long as you align your expectations to the price you are paying then you'll be fine.

Room Tip: If your children are above 7/8 years old consider carefully whether you book a family room, in my vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a great night at the hotel , clean room , helpful staff , only complaint was that kids had to share a sofa bed that was so squeaky it kept us all awake . The following day we visited wookey hole and with kids aged 13 and 9 were done by 2pm but still a good day out . Hotel great location for Glastonbury and surrounding Somerset area. Hotel restaurant was full for evening meal so we went to nearby weatherspoons / about 5 mins drive away and was great service . Hotel continental breakfast was plenty .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this stay as a package, with breakfast with the witch as a treat. On arrival in the evening, we were informed that the witch would not be there the next day at all. Try explaining that to a very excited six year old!! We were given a complimentary ticket to return another time for free, but as this doesn't include the breakfast that we wanted, we shall not be using it!
Dinner that evening in the bistro was ok, although very expensive and many things on the menu were not available. And we were only told that when we tried to order them.
Breakfast was a total disappointment. We had paid for the continental breakfast, but the choice was very poor.
I have to say that the hotel itself was very nice and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of money for this package and it really wasn't worth 10% of what we paid!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a last minute trip and we were able to get our room for 39.99 (without breakfast).
Very good location it takes about 10 minutes to drive into Wells. Rooms were spacious and clean with French Windows that opened and overlooked the car park but had views over towards the hills. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 46 which was a very good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the whitsun package for wookey hole cave tour. Hotel staff were very helpful thoughout our stay, rooms were spotless, plenty of room to park, literally on the doorstep to the attraction. Would highly recommend this hotel for families with small children like ours. Free wifi a god send as my phone had no signal in this valley for the two days. We booked late and didn t really have a view other than a grass bank at the rear of the hotel and our only minor negative would be the sofa bed mattress made our two small daughters roll into each other throughout the night. Would definately stay again though.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel really suprised us. We went on a deal so expected to get what we paid for. However, it was brilliant. Our room was spacious with 4 of us. It was spotless. The staff were all lovely and very happy to lend us glasses and a corkscrew. The children loved it, especially the witch being at breakfast! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Family room was fine with an 8 month and 3 yr old but a balcony would have been handy to sit on once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing