We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wookey hole hotel”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
2 reviews
“Wookey hole hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience, the staff are very friendly professional and helpful, i would rate it 5/5. The food here is amazing and i would give the chef mike 100%, I would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone weather it's couples, family or friends. There is so much to do and see, value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    382
    173
    52
    33
See reviews for
466
331
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I needed a hotel near Wells for one night at short notice. There was limited availability so I booked Wookey Hole Hotel on the basis of good ratings and its own car park. I made the mistake of not looking at the details or reading enough reviews.
Instead of the quiet, country hotel we expected, we found a "holiday camp" complete with hordes of screaming children. It met our primary needs, but was neither a relaxing or an enjoyable experience.
As other reviewers have written, the hotel is clean and functional, and we received a warm welcome from the staff.
Our ground floor room was large and clean but featureless. The bed was very firm and seemed abnormally short as my feet extended far over the end. Consequently I did not sleep very well, despite the fact that the room was dark and quiet. The window looked onto a sloping grassy bank so had a very restricted view. In the late afternoon children played on the bank directly outside our room and spent most of their time staring at us.
The Bistro is described as "elegant dining", but is more like a canteen. There is a bar in the Bistro but only serves draught lager, not bitter. The meals were essentially "pub grub", but were freshly cooked and quite tasty. The big negative for the restaurant was the number of children running around and shouting, even quite late into the evening. We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel due to the noise and activity level of the younger guests.
If you are travelling with young children, perhaps to see the Wookey Hole attractions, this hotel would probably be ideal. However, it was not at all what we wanted or expected. Consequently our stay was a big disappointment and we felt our experience represented poor value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Reception staff very welcoming room spacious and clean and very we'll presented as was the bathroom. Wookey hole attraction right on the doorstep. Very good value for money. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for two days on our roundUK trip. Great room, good size which was light and clean, with double doors opening out allowing in plenty of fresh air. We left the doors open all night and were not disturbed at all. Good shower/ bath combo with good water pressure and lots of hot water. Biggest plus - the lift to up stairs!!
I Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat either breakfast or evening meal.

Room Tip: Looks like any room would be a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very similar to a travel lodge as far as accommodation is concerned. Though the rooms were very bland. Only 1 picture on the walls.
Was not very impressed with the resturant facilities. 1 meal in there . Didn't bother again even for breakfast.
We travelled into Wells for that, & stopped to have pub food from where ever we had visited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pussycat1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Certainly great value for money in mid week.
Location excellent for visiting Bath, Wells, Glastonbury and surrounding areas.
Room spacious, clean and similar to Premier Inn and certainly more than just basic (by the way what's wrong with Premier Inn?) Bed provided a great night's sleep and the continental breakfast was adequate at £6. Evening meals in the 'Bistro' were never disappointing. The food was as good as we have eaten anywhere lately. Service was friendly.
On the negative side, the bedroom telly could have been a bit bigger and the lack of draught beer was a disappointment to an ardent real ale drinker. But it's not the end of the world, I will just appreciate my next pint all the more. All in all an enjoyable experience and great value for the price. Reading some other reviews, I do wonder what some people expect for their money

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have limited view, especially at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is basic, like and premier inn/travel lodge just more expensive. To describe the witches hat room as a VIP suite is a joke. Its a basic room with a poorly finished wet room. The double bed is on platform on the first floor accessed by a circular staircase. It has a low wall around it and the first thing our excited child did was get on the bed and look over the 14ft drop to the floor below. This is very dangerous and it would only take a moment for a child to climb up and fall to the lower floor. There is not enough room around the double bed for 2 bedside tables although I think one may have been moved so that its not possible for a child to climb onto. As the room had a tall window there were no net curtains as in the other rooms. The carpets were dirty. The tea and coffee facilities were on the ground floor level where the children sleep. The room had no special features, so not a relaxing stay in a VIP suite. The roof may well be shaped like a witches hat but internally you look up to a small loft hatch and a smoke alarm, no effort has been made to make this room special in anyway.
Otherwise the hotel staff were mostly pleasant except for Keith on reception who greeted us with a shrug and told us check in wasn't until 3pm. Most of the other staff were fine, the evening meal was good and the breakfast was good but incredibly slow to arrive and we only had to complain 3 times. The witch was really nice and she seemed to be trying to help with some of the complaints but she wasn't able to magic up the breakfast any quicker.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony looked better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing