We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy for the caves!”
Review of Wookey Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wookey Hole Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very handy for the caves!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Large rooms, big beds, modern hotel on the Wookey Caves site. Best rooms are the ones overlooking the park. We had room 18 which overlooks the kitchen, so got the fans going all night. Room had french windows - bit big for leaving open at night, but noise of fans precludes that. Could do with fan to put in the room as it was hot.
Shower was good, soap dispensers were labelled Dove (which is scentfree), but had coconut scented soap in them.
Dinner and Breakfast are extra, but that keeps the room price down.

Room Tip: Park views are quieter. Avoid 32, which overlooks kitchen fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalDickieMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    365
    160
    50
    29
See reviews for
445
311
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleethorpes, n.e. lincs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at a very good rate. Rooms and lay out very similar to premier inns, but much cheaper, plenty parking. Beds a little hard but clean plenty space for short stay luggage, tea/coffee making facility. On site bar and restaurant serving family food.
Excellent value for money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank val-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here after Glastonbury last year and found it really nice so stayed here again this year. It was a bit more pricey this year but we didnt mind paying a bit more after being in a tent for a week ! We ate breakfast here which was nice and had a drink at the bar but ventured into the village for our evening meal to the wookey hole inn which was lovely. Planning on staying here again next year.

Room Tip: We had a nice room at the back of the hotel but our friends on the 1st floor with a balcony at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Myself, husband and 2 year old daughter stayed over night at the Wookey Hole. The hotel itself is good, comfy beds, plenty of towels, no noise from other rooms, and family friendly.

The only thing that let down our stay was the service we received when wanting to eat. We went to the bistro and the woman said we would have to wait 40 minutes for a table. I asked why and her response was 'I'm on my own and it's busy', there was 4 tables with people eating and no one else waiting! We didn't wait for the table, we drove to into town and got something there.

The hotel lacks a communal area, there is only your room and bistro. It would be nice to have a cafe area, so the kids aren't just stuck in the rooms.

There is nothing else around it so make sure you take your food and drink supply's.

Overall a good night sleep and that's it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank clareacart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My daughter and I, with her twins stayed for two nights in a family room last week. We had dinner and breakfast on both occasions. The service and staff could not have been better. We had a nice clean room and the meals were perfect for five year olds and adults. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone holidaying in the area.

Room Tip: we had a lovely ground floor room overlooking park land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here by chance with the family and got more than we bargained for, brilliant value and great food my girlfriend loved it and she's hard to please, room was clean, spacious and well facilitated.
Would defiantly recommend it to anyone, great day out too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited for a one night stay.Found a great deal also available on the Wookey Hole website.You get a cackling witch on the recorded message all adds to the fun !!Paid £39:99 for a family room plenty of space very clean with nice fresh bedding and towels.Little touch of witches on the curtains.Breakfast was not included we were on a tight budget so took croissants and pain au chocolate.Drinks and a kettle were in the room and you can pay extra for meals a bar is also downstairs.Good location with free parking and felt very safe.Visited the Wookey hole pub for an evening meal which was very nice.Short drive to Wells and Glastonbury both interesting places to spend a couple oh hours.Wookey hole attraction on the door step discount vouchers and tesco points are a good idea to reduce admission fees.

Room Tip: Asked for a quite room and we had a great sleep !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wookey Hole
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wookey Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wookey Hole Hotel

Property: Wookey Hole Hotel
Address: Wookey Hole | Wells, Wookey Hole, Wells BA5 1BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > Wookey Hole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wookey Hole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wookey Hole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wookey Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wookey Hole Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing