We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub”

The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Wookey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great cider, lovely pub to visit with kids on holiday and happy to serve us chips even though booked out, we even returned the next night!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank familyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    12
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“meal at the Pheasant Inn”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

An excellent meal and very good real ales. Avery friendly pub where we were made to feel very welcome

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Pub”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went here the other night for a meal and we were not disappointed. We knew Steve and Wendy before from a previous pub and decided to try here. Superb beers, excellent menu. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveTheOldMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow - what a find !”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Don't get put off by the outside appearance of this pub. The ambiance is great, as is the quality of the food and its presentation. Menu would not look out of place in a restaurant in London. Great experience and would recommend if you are in the area. Be aware though that they don't serve food everyday and the kitchen does shut mid evening. You need to book for a Saturday night. TIP : Ring to find out serving times to avoid disappointment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesleyb30012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooked food, generous portions...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My hubby and I stopped here purely by chance and instantly I was blown away by the well thought out menu and nice looking food....

I picked the ploughmans, word of warning it was enormous but the cheese was amazing with fresh bread!! My hubby picked the Wookey burger and it came in a herbed roll well thought out and he said it was delicious. As it was a Sunday they had a carvery on and the food did look lovely, highly recommended.

Then a week later we were passing in we decided to pay a further visit, this time I sampled the fresh crab salad, again no disappointment !

Well worth a stop if you are passing the staff are very friendly too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanloje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pheasant Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing