We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Glastonbury(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Meare Manor(Glastonbury)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
186
36
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
36
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millhomemade breadguinea pigsloft conversionhosts stevelocal jamsbig double bedhayloft roomring o bellsworking water millcheddar gorgewookey holewet roomshort drivefresh eggsfriendly ownerssitting room
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at The Lodge (self-catering accommodation) at Burcott Mill. This was our first visit but it definitely won’t be our last. The Lodge has everything you would need for self-catering as well as a really comfortable super king size bed. It’s an ideal spot for touring the area which by the way is definitely open for business! We were very lucky with the weather no rain (& no flooding at all). Thanks to Steve for giving us a tour of the mill which was fascinating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

So glad you enjoyed your break in Mill Lodge. Thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you in Somerset again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Overall good value accommodation with a beautifully cooked breakfast. Only a few things let the star rating down...

We stayed in the Granary room, which is located in an adjoining building round the back. The room was a decent size, but lacking headroom above either side, it was very much like a converted loft room. There is a velux window on the roof which is quite nice to look at when laying in bed, however this is the only window making the room feel a little confined.

The room was clean and pleasant with a nice selection of drinks, though the decor perhaps felt a little outdated. Considering this is a working mill however, it was expected to have a "rustic" feel room. I thought the room smelt a little musty/damp but we were above the flowing water working the mill so unsure whether or not to criticise. There was also a repetitive knocking noise at nighttime, which I think was the mill? but sounded like a washing machine being used. A little irritating for those with good hearing or good sense of smell...

The lockable bathroom down the stairs was large in size and the handwashes provided were rather lovely, but one of the towels seemed dirty which was a little off putting. The shower wasn't very powerful, but nice to have a bath.

For breakfast the continental breakfast selection was nice with a good selection of confectioneries for toast, homemade jams were lovely. The cooked breakfasts for myself and my partner were very nice, sausages and eggs were perfectly cooked. I couldn't fault the breakfast only perhaps asked for more !

Overall I think this accommodation offers good value for money but I do believe a couple of things could be done to easily increase the star rating.

TIP: If you're thinking about going for something to eat in the area. I would recommend The Westbury Inn pub, just a 5 min drive away. (Westbury-sub-Mendip BA5 1HA) It had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, which was not the case at the one opposite or The Pheasant

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralovesulots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.
It is good to know that you feel we offer good value for money, and enjoyed our locally sourced breakfast options. I would like to make a couple of comments regarding some of the points you made.
I am extremely sorry that you found a towel to have a mark on it, as we have very high standards when it comes to cleanliness of our towels and linens. Your towels were freshly cleaned, and this mark must have been missed when the towel was put in your bathroom. Apologies for that.
The room you occupied is located at the top of the main house (though accessed through a separate entrance), and as such has a loft style window.
Whilst I cannot pass comment on the noise you heard (no previous guest has mentioned this), we have noticed a patch on the wall of this room – where we believe the recent wet weather is taking its toll. We now removed this room for bookings until this problem is fixed by our local roofer.
Once again, thank you for your constructive comments, and we are glad that you found us good value.
Regards Louise French

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I think that I was somewhat unfortunate in needing two single rooms for myself and my daughter, and this of course added to the cost of my two-night stay. As with the other reviews, I found Steve and Louise to be excellent hosts, and the mill was charming, the food was good, as is the location, however, probably unlike all the other rooms there, neither of ours had a view. Mine was obscured by a tree right up against the window, and my daughter's double room only had a sky-light.

Somerset and Wells is expensive for accomodation, and perhaps the burden of the extra business of the mill adds to the expense? The single room I had was very small, it was en-suite but the shower did not give much elbow-room and intruded into the bedroom space. I would still recommend Burcott Mill, and the rooms are competitively priced, but like a lot of these tourist traps there is insufficient competition - too many tourists chasing too many beds makes for expensive accomodation. One more thing; both the rooms we used were heated by wall-mounted convector heaters, these maintain a comfortable temperature but not particularly good air quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monjo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.
Whilst we are glad that you found us welcoming and well located, we were a little disappointed with some of your comments and scores.
The single ensuite room which you occupied, whilst small (which we always disclose to customers when booking), we feel is excellent value. In fact the next guest in your room, was surprised that the room rate was only £35, including a full breakfast. Whilst we do not have a second single room, we were able to offer your daughter a double room , but as it was for a weekend in school holidays, we could only offer a small single occupancy discount.
We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast, we pride ourselves on offering a wide choice which includes our own homemade bread, fresh fruit salad, and several cooked choices.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us.
Regards
Louise French

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our hosts Louise and Steve were really friendly and sympathetic to our situation as we had a family funeral to attend. We stayed in the Old Mill Office which was spacious and clean and the super king size bed was so very comfortable , had a great nights sleep. The full english breakfast was cooked to perfection. We will definitely be back under more happier personal circumstances.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroMacLand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We were very happy to look after your family group, at such a difficult and important time. We look forward to seeing you at a happier time. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Steve and Louise gave us a fantastic welcome when our plans had to change to due a tragic event. Nothing was too much effort and we got a bigger room so we could have the children if they stayed. As it is a working mill they took our Singaporean side of the family on a tour which they loved. Really special place to stay

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lesleyinthefarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou and Steve F, Owner at Burcott Mill Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It was lovely to have your family here just before Christmas. Thank you for your positive comments, and we hope to see again when visiting your extended family.
Louise French

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews