We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, attentive service, excellent location and really good atmosphere”
Review of Grills & Greens - CLOSED

Grills & Greens
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Italian, British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive service, excellent location and really good atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've eaten in the chain restaurants in Godalming (Slug and Lettuce) and those types of restaurants are, meh... I prefer unique and individual feeling restaurants.

I've eaten at Grills & Greens several times now, usually lunch or early afternoon and only once had OK service and OK food (it was a waitress I hadn't seen before and she forgot to ask the chef to make my partner's chille spicy - which they usually do).

On the other occasions where I've really enjoyed the food and service, definitely worth the 'excellent' rating; portions are good and staff are down to earth, attentive without being over bearing. Great food options on the menu and I get the sense the owner's/chef's influence runs throughout the restaurant, I like that individuality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    63
    35
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good for lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We often use Grills & Greens for lunch and they always manage to feed us within the hour. Nice food served with a smile. What more could you want.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good potential here just needs a tweak or two”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We went here for breakfast....layout is nice . The guy that took our order got it all wrong but did insist on not using a pad to write it down!However the staff were friendly and attentive . I had eggs benedict but with salmon...It was nice but my only personal gripe was tasted very strongly of lemon juice!The half monty breakfast was presented very nicely...looked like a bit of the sausage was missing though . service could be a little quicker but there is huge potential here.

Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Grills and Greens has been a family favourite for some years. Always friendly staff, good food & reasonable prices. We have been many times and never had a bad experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic favourite”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We love this place; friendly vibe, great food, light airy room looking down the old high street. The manager (Tom?) is really welcoming - and tells us he gets the big hunks of proper meat from the butcher down the road. Great place for lunch. Safely in our trio of Godalming favourites, all different, all independent, all very good: Grills & Greens, Firenze and La Fleurie.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon_verse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grills & Greens also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing