We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Night's Stay”
Review of Godalming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godalming Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Canterbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Night's Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked through Booking.com, however, because of a hospital visit we had to change. Andrew was exceptionally helpful in getting this done.

We arrived and were welcomed by the member of staff on duty and shown to a ground floor room. Everything was clean and the douvet had a good fresh smell about it. The shower room was excellent. Although the room was small it was very comfortable and the free Wi.Fi was a bonus.

We had a vegetarian breakfast in the morning and left almost straight after to meet up with our friends.

When we are in Godalming again we will certianly use this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for ground floor room if possible, the stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raypcs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    97
    50
    28
    27
See reviews for
49
91
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We, a familiy of 4 with teenager children had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights confirmed, but after the first night we were supposed to move into one room, because the hotel was overbooked.
After long discussions on the phone, we received our money back, and could move out.
Breakfast was not the best.
The personel was very helpful and friendly.
The room in first floor was charming, groundfloor not so nice.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elisaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
We were certainly not overbooked.
The family asked for a family room for 4 people and that is what I arranged for them.

Initially they booked through a German agency but cancelled that booking and booked directly through the hotel to take advantage of special prices. Then they changed the booking from three people to 4 (2 adults and 2 children). Then they changed back to three before finally settling on 4. They then asked for a family room for 4 which I was eventually able to arrange due to a cancellation. When they arrived their children were actually young adults and, yes, the room was too small but at this stage I could not offer another room.

I did so much for this family to accommodation their changing requirements and really feel aggrieved that they give a negative review, especially when I provided the room they requested.

Their original costs were £130 per night but by arranging the quad family as requested I got this down to £80 per night with 4 full English breakfasts included. I think that is pretty good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Imagine the surprise on being told our name was not registered for that day even when we produced a print-out showing date of booking together with price. The owner Andy was not interested at all and would not assist in finding alternative accommodation.A quite disgraceful situation !

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The fact that the entrance hall is stunning, is about the only plus about this hotel. The room was a family room - you could hardly swing a cat in it. There are no curtains in the room - only blinds so at 6.30am the sun shone through. The toilet makes a very odd sound when flushing and the towels smelt strange, not clean. You can hear your neighbours, as the walls are paper thin. The breakfast was poor, greasy and cheap sausages..........all in all - we stayed there as were at a wedding but was dissappointed. more like a bed and breakfast. not a hotel. Also we were told we had to have breakfast at 8.30am and so we asked why as the paperwork says breakfast is served till 9.45am, so then we were 'allowed' to have breakfast at 9.00am.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue mountains
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here for a week - which I dont believe this hotel is suited to. Most people only stay a night or two and have limited luggage and for this it would probably suite well.
The exterior is a little tired with the tiling around the entrance steps in some disrepair - the place has the look and feel of a guest house rather than a hotel - there is no reception as such just a table in the hallway, and no facilities that you would expect a hotel to have ie no food, bar, services, and very few staff (that work very hard).
There are many steps and stairs to deal with to get to rooms which was a problem for us because we were on a 5 week trip and had medium size cases with other bits and pieces to carry - there is no lift.
The rooms are very small - they are adequately equiped for a short stay, however there is very little space for hanging and storing clothes and absolutely nowhere to put empty cases - not even under the beds as they were too low - we ended up having to keep a number of items in our hire car, which was not ideal. The pictures posted are taken with wide angle lenses - we were shocked at the actual room when we arrived.
Rooms are very clean - the whole place is very clean - and towels etc changed daily, but the general level of decor and fittings in the rooms is not great - the lamp above the bathroom mirror didnt work - the blinds in the room couldnt be adjusted, we couldnt control the heated towel rail.
The breakfast was fine - but it was exactly the same format every day - no choice whatsoever ie you couldnt have poached or scrambled eggs - only fried etc and for a week this was very boring - for 1 or 2 nights again its probably fine, again not what I would expect for a place calling itself a hotel..
There is plenty of parking - but most is accessed by a very narrow passage between the building and a fence - made worse by the fact that it is not consistent in width - there is a step jutting out and the wall position changes - it was nerve racking to drive through in our hire car.
If you have a car the location is fine and the property is quiet.
In summary this in my opinion is not a hotel its a guest house and suitable for a night or 2 only.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Very friendly staff, room a little tired ( paint peeling off of the window sill, room 15).
Neither of the bathroom lights worked so could not use the bathroom at night, told it would be fixed the following morning, which would be great for the following guests but not for us as we were only staying one night. I would of at least expected a slight discount but......nope.

Parking is extremely tight, 17 rooms with maybe 6 spaces, down a very narrow side road, lots of paint scrapes from previous victims!

Would we stay there again.........not really......

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This friendly hotel proves that it is possible to provide good quality budget accommodation.
We have stayed before and every time the hotel is immaculately clean and fresh. The rooms vary in size but beds are comfortable and showers are always hot. The decor is modern and well maintained by the hard working staff. Breakfast is a no frills 'English' freshly cooked, coffee is excellent provided in a cafetiere. Coffee can often be a big disappointment in far more expensive hotels.
It can be a bit noisy in the morning as many of the business people who stay get up very early indeed but that is a minor quibble in a well run establishment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litcrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
2.9 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.2 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godalming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godalming Hotel

Property: Godalming Hotel
Address: 65 Meadrow | Guildford, Godalming GU7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Godalming Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godalming Hotel is a small family run hotel offering beautiful rooms at the best prices in the Guildford and Godalming area. We aim to provide a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay.Complimentary Full English cooked breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking are included free of charge.Our rooms have wood flooring and mahogany beds. Each is fitted with Flat screen Freeview TV, DVD Player, Tea and Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer and Shaver Point. Our bathrooms are full, tiled and equipped with Villeroy & Boch fittings and come with fresh towels and toiletries.Our breakfast room, though fully modernised, has many features from the original 1830s building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Godalming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godalming Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing