We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Godalming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Godalming Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just stayed 1 night after moving our son to Godalming had a large van some hotels are funny about them, but I phoned and checked and they were fine got parked ok, great that we could check in as early at 1.30 again lots of other hotels are much later. Very friendly staff room had everything you needed all nice and clean. Breakfast was nice and freshly cooked.
If you want an overnight stay it's great, can get a bus outside takes to into Guildford.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a double room on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel, the room was very nice with everything we needed, extra pillows were provided on request. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate, the room was very clean throughout. The manager was friendly and efficient, always around when needed. My Mum had a room booked for 1 night also and she was happy with her single ensuite which was small but again well equipped and very clean. Breakfast was very nice though a little early for me as it finished at 8:30 on week days, I still managed to drag myself out of bed though, the dining area is bright and airy with modern decor. Car parking was good but a bit of a tight squeeze manouvering down the side of the building. All in all we are highly likely to use this hotel again on our next trip to visit our daughter who is studying in Guildford.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed one night as at a 30th Birthday around the corner, small but nice room, very comfortable bed, good shower facilties, room very clean, breakfast was excellent with comfortable seating in a bright and airy dining room. overall good value for money, pleasant staff. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoody_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My boyfriend & I were in the area for a friends wedding. We chose to stay 2 nights & make the most Ida weekend away. Great location for Guildford & the wedding venue in Bramley. Nothing was to much trouble, more milks, toiletries, an iron & board put in the room on request. For Sundays breakfast the dining area was full, so they brought it a to our room. Very friendly & good value. Hotel decor is a little different, but it actually made it more endearing.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah7A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We had a wedding to attend at Losely park (just over a mile away) and intended checkIng in late afternoon. Due to the wedding running way out of schedule we decided to check in as late as possible (23:00).
From 16:00 through to 19:00 we received calls/voicemail messages asking when we was checking in. During this period we where busy with photos, wedding breakfast etc,etc. we called them back (after half a dozen missed calls from them)to explain that we would check in as late as possible. At 22:00 through till our arrival at 22:45 we had 2 more missed calls from the hotel.
We understand that the owner wanted to go to bed, but if you have a 23:00 check in time I feel that pestering people is unacceptable.
About the hotel: walked into reception which was clean and bright but smelt of oriental cooking.
The room was clean, unfortunately the towels smelt also of oriental cooking.
The walls are paper thin, within minutes of getting into the room we had the next room banging on the wall!
Breakfast was reasonable, when they say full English breakfast this consisted of one egg, one bacon, one sausage and some beans. Toast, cereals and tea and coffee where included.
We was checked in by what I would guess was the Asian owner, served breakfast by the same gentleman and checked out by him.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thanks your your review which has some positives and negatives and both are equally appreciated as we try to improve.

Your booking did ask for an early check-in and we were concerned twhen you did not arrive by evening and that you would arrive late which would in itself not be a problem since the manager is on duty till 24.00 - we just wanted to know

If you had taken the time to answer one of our calls or send a text it would have been sorted. I think this has coloured your review of our hotel but we were showing concern for you, thats all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The standard of this small hotel has been maintained over the couple of years we have been using it. The rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable. On occasions we have had noisy neighbours but that happens in all hotels...it's just luck and a bit unfair to blame the hotel. As for the comment about staff being rude, I am very surprised indeed. The manager is so polite and helpful I can't believe he's ever been rude. I suppose things can go wrong when people interact with people but of all the places we've stayed, this has to be the most polite and consistently so. Breakfasts (full cooked) were excellent, yet again! Parking is safe, on-site and free. WiFi is available free. For light sleepers the rear of the hotel is best but the road noise isn't too bad as traffic doesn't tend to go very fast past that stretch. While it doesn't have a restaurant there is a huge choice to suit all pockets are wishes within a mile or so.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.
We pride ourselves on clean rooms, polite staff and value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed there over weekend and found the room clean, tidy and well decorated. Good atmosphere and warm welcome. Showers were hot every time we used them with clean towels, with more on request. Extra pillow also readily available. The only downside were other guests who, despite being of the older generation, were loud at all times of night and day.

Would recommend staying there. But would suggest Earplugs for a good nights sleep as soundproofing is nonexistent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Noisy guests can be a problem but our manager will usually talk to them and sort it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
744 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
514 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godalming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godalming Hotel

Address: 65 Meadrow | Guildford, Godalming GU7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: £56 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Godalming Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godalming Hotel is a small family run hotel offering beautiful rooms at the best prices in the Guildford and Godalming area. We aim to provide a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay.Complimentary Full English cooked breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking are included free of charge.Our rooms have wood flooring and mahogany beds. Each is fitted with Flat screen Freeview TV, DVD Player, Tea and Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer and Shaver Point. Our bathrooms are full, tiled and equipped with Villeroy & Boch fittings and come with fresh towels and toiletries.Our breakfast room, though fully modernised, has many features from the original 1830s building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Godalming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godalming Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing