We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose”
Review of Godalming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Godalming Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A very good price, easy to find on the main road into Guildford. I had a room at the back facing out onto the car park. This is quite small and the road to it, past the side of the hotel is very narrow.
Entry to the hotel is with a timed door, and personal 'key.'
The hotel's entrance is into the breakfast area, with overhead TV. Its bright clean and airy.
The bedroom was in good order, clean, well decorated and maintained with the twin beds I had requested. Usual TV and desk with tea and coffee set up.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout.
Breakfast was serve yourself cereal and juices but the hot food is brought to you, it seems to be freshly cooked. I chose a small portion, but Full English is available.
Bottled water is free.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    97
    50
    32
    31
See reviews for
51
93
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a small good value for money 'hotel' . I have stayed 4 times now and its aways very clean and the staff really helpful. If you are looking for all the extras a hotel give then this is not the place however if you want a clean, comfortable good value hotel in an excellent location then this is perfect. Parking can be a problem and although you can use next door's car park you have to move your car before 8 am which is a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great little find. Clean rooms comfy beds adequate en suite. Lovely breakfast perfect service friendly staff reasonable pricing
Everything you want really. Would def use again and recommend to anyone
All positive, nothing bad to say

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Room clean but small. Shower room was difficult to get in and out and the water would change suddenly from hot to cold and vice versa. We only had one member of staff on show and he booked us in and served us our breakfast. Breakfast looked nice and presentation was good but I was let down by the food being barely warm. Overall it was fine for a short time but for a longer stay I would have to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We needed an hotel overnight whilst attending a family party. The Godalming Hotel came up trumps! From arrival the staff were helpful and attentive, the en suite facilities really good, good night's sleep, breakfast excellent, and the decor most attractive. I understand the hotel has recently been refurbished. The communal areas are bright and very attractive and the furniture whilst modern is very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayatofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Although I only stayed the one night but I was more than happy. Free parking, breakfast and a comfortable (ensuite) room for the price you pay makes this hotel very good value for money. The dining area is very well done out as well and the staff were quite accommodating. It's certainly makes a nice change to stay somewhere with a bit of character.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here back in January and since then the building has been given an eyecatching and welcoming facelift.
The décor on the ground floor still looks new, and the same staff just as hospitable and helpful.
This 'hotel' doesn't have a bar but if like us and the other working guests who want an uninterrupted night and an excellent breakfast in the morning, then this is the place for you.
A family run business which is more a home than a hotel and has a very individualistic stamp in Godalming, that offers competitive rates and a change from the mainstream chains heavily advertised on TV

Room Tip: Supermarket 5 minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
798 reviews
3.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godalming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godalming Hotel

Property: Godalming Hotel
Address: 65 Meadrow | Guildford, Godalming GU7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Godalming Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godalming Hotel is a small family run hotel offering beautiful rooms at the best prices in the Guildford and Godalming area. We aim to provide a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay.Complimentary Full English cooked breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking are included free of charge.Our rooms have wood flooring and mahogany beds. Each is fitted with Flat screen Freeview TV, DVD Player, Tea and Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer and Shaver Point. Our bathrooms are full, tiled and equipped with Villeroy & Boch fittings and come with fresh towels and toiletries.Our breakfast room, though fully modernised, has many features from the original 1830s building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Godalming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godalming Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing