We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Godalming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Godalming Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights and have to say how nice it is
Very clean and really nicely designed
Lovely Mahogany sleigh beds which are really comfy
Nice breakfast in the morning
All in all a really good hotel and very well priced

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petedebManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    97
    50
    32
    31
See reviews for
51
93
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I booked this hotel for myself, my husband and another couple as we were visiting friends in the area, we normally stay at the Premier Inn, which is a good hotel but they were charging £79 per night without breakfast. I found this place for £65 with a full English so booked it. When booking I was told that they had no double rooms available but they would push the beds together, so I was happy with that.

Upon arrival and checking, unfortunately the bedrooms were not made up as doubles, I did mention this to them and they apologised and very quickly moved and changed the bedrooms for us.

Our room was very clean and neat and the bed was very comfortable and soft (an absolute dream), our room was at the front of the hotel so there was quiet a bit of traffic noise from the main road. My friends room was at the back of the hotel and they said that they did not hear a thing and had a wonderful nights sleep, however, they did complain to me that the floor in their room was not very clean. Ours however was spotless. There is tea and coffee in the rooms, flat screen TV and free wi-fi (which we did not try out).

There is something slightly strange about the hotel, not sure if it was the fact that I was under the impression that it was a big hotel but it’s rather compact and the pictures on the web site are accurate, I just thought it was bigger. It’s sort of on the borderline of a glamorous B&B and contemporary hotel. The Chinese staff, although nice and friendly, the older one came across a bit off at times but I am sure that is a culture thing (however, the young lad who served our breakfast was brilliant and could not do enough for us). Overall, I enjoyed the stay and would come back again to this hotel rather than the Premier Inn. I also really loved the quirky little touches around the hotel – very nicely done.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

had a party in Godalming and needed a B&B for the night. Needed a family room but they had none available so gave me a double room and a single room at a good rate!! on arrival we checked in and the member of staff noticed I was on crutches and said that the room which was allocated to us was not only quite small but was also upstairs and the bigger room was allocated to a single person who had not yet turned up so they swopped the rooms to meet my requirements, this was without me asking as I was prepared to walk up the stairs. The rooms are not massive but meet all the needs for a overnight or couple of nights stay, flat screen tv, Free internet access, hair dryer, fresh clean towels. The beds are very comfortable, the bed linen is nice, clean, tasteful, soft and smelt gorgeous, as though you had washed them at home yourself. The bathroom was very clean and modern. There were two sittings at breakfast 8.30 or 9.30 which we was asked on arrival which time we would prefer. Upon arrival at breakfast we was asked if we would like a full English breakfast which we all said yes to. There was Orange Juice to help yourself to and a selection of cereal, cornflakes, cheerios, muesli and bran flakes which you could help yourself to. Hot toast was brought to the table and then an english breakfast of 1 sausage, 1 piece of bacon, mushrooms, beans and a fresh grilled tomatoe all very nicely presented and tasted wonderful. Tea and coffee was also served and you could have as much as you like as well more toast if required. The whole experience was excellent and I would recommend this B&B to anyone who was going to Godalming for a short visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your review.

It is very satisfying to hear such positive statements on our hotel and the service we provide which I will pass on to my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I booked this for a couple of days rest and relaxation, it was excellent, a very clean, bright room, I had no problems with the Wi fi There was a tea and coffee tray. Breakfast was fine, it was hot, not greasy, with plenty of tea and toast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your positive comments and are glad your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I came to stay at the Godalming Hotel on 14th February. I complained to a member of staff at reception that the room (on the ground floor next to reception) was cold and requested to change rooms. We were informed no other rooms were available. The bathroom floor was fit for ice skating.

It also became evident the room was not fit for purpose. The shower door was broken and worse, the room was disgustingly dirty. (I later sent the owner the photos I had taken of the bodily fluid present all over the wall above the bed). When we complained we were accused of making the mess on the wall, (some of it was even on the bedhead) and told we would not be refunded our money. I refused to stay at the hotel, obviously, and had to go and stay at the local Travelodge. Why couldnt the manager apologise and try to resolve the situation? We subsequently found out there were further rooms available... in fact the hotel was only half full!!!! So they lie as well....

I complained again that evening via telephone (by this time it had ruined our special valentines day/night) and requested a refund for the £60 I had paid via my debit card for the room. The manager refused to do so, eventually hung up the telephone after accusing us of making the stains and breaking the shower door! And the following day via a face to face meeting informed me they would be charging £30 for non return of the room key (that they had lost!)

So they charged my debit card with a further £30, not only without any authority but without informing me. This is illegal by the way.... The female manager was nothing short of a bully and my partner was in tears at this point....

I had to write two letters threatening civil action before my money was refunded. And when the first refund was processed they debited a further £60!! So i was £150 down for a hotel I couldnt stay in and upset my girlfriend to the extent she was in tears!!!

Stay here at your peril. The room wasn't cosy, the staff were all foreign spoken and no help whatsoever and the whole place puts me in mind of a modern day Fawlty Towers in Surrey.

If you ignore my review and stay here then good luck, because if anything goes wrong and you have cause to speak to the management, you'll need it.

And as for staying here again? I get shivers if I drive past the place.....

BE WARNED.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 41000ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
I have checked with the guests who stayed on this date and all of them were happy with their stay.

As I write the response to this review our rating for cleanliness on booking.com is 8.6 out of 10 which is a very good score. Staff also rate 8.6 out of 10.

I am not sure of the motives of the reviewer but it is clear that his comments do not agree with the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I am a regular business traveller to all types of hotels, chains and independantsand I score this hotel very highly. It's clean and very well presented. Excellent value for money - in fact it beats many other hotels at a far higher price. To get this level you'd have to spend about £100 per night and endure the awful feeling of "corporate" hotels.
No evening meal on offer but lots of good places to eat - I used Prezzo and it was excellent.
On arrival the experience is, I admit, clinical/efficient and cold, not unfriendly but Chinese people have a different culture so I can see why some reviewers found it cold. Then again, the experience at larger chain hotels is far worse.
I would not hesitate to stay again.

ps. As uasual the WiFi didn't work in my room - I wish hotels would be more realistic when offering this service as it rarely works in all rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCharles1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your comments and I am glad your enjoyed your stay and rated us so highly.

Wi-Fi is always a bit tricky and sometimes the laptop plays a part with reception too. I do not promise Wi-Fi in the bedrooms but have introduced WLAN-n to improve coverage, unfortunately only the newest laptops have this. I will try to make more improvements to increase coverage to the furthers away rooms as this is clearly a valued service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liveaboards
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have been here for about one week leaving the day after tomorrow. I had stayed a couple of nights a few weeks ago, alone. Free off-road car parking.

Rooms:- Vary in size and some face the road and some the garden. The road is not especially busy at night and the windows are double-glazed - on my first stay I overlooked the road and on the second, the garden. Garden side is best. The double beds are a little too small for us as we are used to King Size but the bedding is high quality for an hotel and the mattresses comfortable. The bedrooms are immaculately clean and bright. Decor is spartan but functional. Free WiFi which runs at a good speed in all the rooms. Hairdryer and tea/coffee hospitality tray. The bathroom (shower only) is clean and works well.

The only food served is breakfast -- a full English is included in the room rate but there are many pubs and restaurants within three miles drive from expensive silver service to fish 'n chips (the chippy is quite good, in Godalming). The staff are happy for you borrow plates and cutlery if you want to bring a take-away back. The breakfast is freshly cooked and really very good. Much better than the buffet breakfasts you find in the more expensive hotels though I don't think they do cold cuts, cheese and there are no croissants, brioches etc. on offer or yoghurt that I could see. The coffee is fresh cafetiere and very good and the OJ is regular long-life not the horrid stuff many more expensive hotels use.

The staff are excellent and they all seem to speak perfect English. Everything is clean, fresh and nice.

During our stay there have been a large number of small businessmen (white vans), office workers, and a few private individuals. All of the guest are polite in this very small hotel where you do say 'good morning' when you enter the breakfast room. The hotel seems to be almost full most of the time - it seems to have a regular clientèle.

I would not trade my room here for one in the Premier Inn, Travel Lodge, etc. unless the others could provide the inclusive B&B deal for, say, £20 per night less -- we are paying £60 per night for two, including two breakfasts which would cost £20 anywhere else.

It is very cold in the UK at the moment and we are using the room as an office and living room during the day -- the heating goes in the early morning and does not come back on again until the early evening. It gets a little bit cold.....the rads are all thermostatic and it would make more sense for them to turn off the rads in the rooms that have been vacated rather than shut down the entire heating for the day. But the hotel is well insulated and it is not a major issue.

Because it is hard to get into this hotel (very popular) I was of half a mind to leave a terrible report :) But that wouldn't be fair or truthful!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuildfordMonty, Owner at Godalming Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
703 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
798 reviews
3.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godalming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godalming Hotel

Property: Godalming Hotel
Address: 65 Meadrow | Guildford, Godalming GU7 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Godalming Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Godalming Hotel is a small family run hotel offering beautiful rooms at the best prices in the Guildford and Godalming area. We aim to provide a friendly welcome and a comfortable stay.Complimentary Full English cooked breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking are included free of charge.Our rooms have wood flooring and mahogany beds. Each is fitted with Flat screen Freeview TV, DVD Player, Tea and Coffee Facilities, Hairdryer and Shaver Point. Our bathrooms are full, tiled and equipped with Villeroy & Boch fittings and come with fresh towels and toiletries.Our breakfast room, though fully modernised, has many features from the original 1830s building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Godalming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godalming Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing