We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average pub meal”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #17 of 75 Restaurants in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$45
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Country pub dating to 16th century with large garden and lovely walks nearby. Fresh food cooked daily with wide selection of weekly changing local ales including Surrey Hills, Langhams, Dark Star, Hog's Back & Bowmore and favourites from St Austell.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average pub meal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Sadly The white Horse remains a very average eating pub. Lovely situation and garden, but ate here last night and the menu was limited and boring, and the food was nothing special. Won't be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GILL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    22
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so good here anymore”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The ambience is good.
The service was dreadful and it didn't seem that busy..
No children's menu, but they did make pasta when asked.
We asked for a medium rare burger and it was over cooked no one was about to complain to, when we did eventually find a person they said did we want another by which time everyone had finished. The garlic bread was burnt. An altogether unsatisfactory meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

between visiting a National Trust woodland and Losely Park we came across this attractive pub in an attractive village ( lovely parish church by the way) The range of beers and ciders and wines by the glass was extensive and good quality. Main courses consumed were fishcakes( excellent) ceasar salad.( very good) and lamb shank( basically very good but too much reliance on baked beans as the vegetable) The lemon tart was good but the ice creams perfunctory.
Service tip top

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent pub stop in the middle of our hike”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We were following the London Timeout Saturday Walkers route from Milford to Godalming, and this was the suggested lunch stop.

It has a large and fantastic garden out the back, with both sun and shade! Loads of space, and seemed to welcome dogs and children as well.

The drinks were great, we had the otter ale and hiphop ale, and both were quite nice.

Food was really tasty! 4 out of 5 of us had something from the daily specials (2x pie and 2x roast) , and one person something from the regular menu (cheese and leek tart) and we were all very happy with our meal. Delicious food, well made, that left us feeling good and ready to continue the hike.

I guess the only thing that could improve is the service, the waitress only brought one person cutlery, then was surprised when I went hunting for more. Also we asked for things like ketchup / mayo / etc, but after assuring us that she'll get it soon the girl kind of just forgot about our existence. But if you don't mind poaching condiments and cutlery, then it was fine, everyone was pleasant and friendly.

Overall great food, really the taste and quality were amazing. Would definitely eat and or drink here again. And the garden is fantastic, there should definitely be more like it!

Helpful?
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After finding ourselves child free today and the weather looking good we decided to go for a pub lunch before a walk with the dog around Winkworth Arboretum. Husband chose this pub as it was only a few minutes away. We arrived around 1pm and sat in the very nice garden out the back of the pub in the sunshine with the dog and ordered our food - Moules and a burger. Over an hour later at 2.05pm there was still no sign of our food. I went and spoke to one of the waitresses who said she would see where it had got to. Another 10 minutes later and my husbands moules arrived, a further 5 minutes my burger arrived and another 5 minutes after asking our cutlery arrived with my husbands garlic bread after I pointed out we hadnt got any cutlery. I'd asked for my burger to be well done but it was still pink but by this time the poor dog was bored senseless and we were starving so we just ate what we had and left. Now I know that on hot afternoons when places are really busy you would expect to wait a while for food but the garden was around 2/3rds full and inside was pretty empty and even so 1 hour 20 minutes was a ridiculous amount of time to wait for food that wasn't especially nice. I suggest if you do end up having no other option and going there that maybe you order your food and go for a walk around Winkworth Arboretum as it will give you just about the right amount of time before the food comes! Anyway, we wont be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinah2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

 
Chiddingfold, Godalming
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing