We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of The Harrow

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Harrow
Ranked #47 of 75 Restaurants in Godalming
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Poor meal on Friday 7th. March Liver and Bacon much smaller portion than normal and no Onion Rings. Bland Lasagne. Complained to staff twice but management not interested. I have been visiting this pub for over 40 years ant this was

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Valentines meal”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I took my girlfriend here on valentines day evening for a meal. If you are looking for good food and a traditional pub atmosphere then this is your place. If you want a true restaurant feel then you should look further afield. What I ill say however is that the staff are great. I like a beer and I don't think I had to wait more than 30 seconds from the time I ordered to it landing on my table. The food is good and prices are very reasonable. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to dine in a real English pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulMarsden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast... unless they've sold out of them”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Harrow has a great reputation for Sunday roasts, however, when we recently went with a table booking for 1.15pm, we were very disappointed to find that they had "run out of roast dinners" as they "had just taken a large order from a table of 6". Shortly after placing our orders for our second choices, we learnt that there was one roast dinner left (not sure why), which I happened to win the toss of the coin for. It was a very, very good roast lamb. Overall, the other meals went down well and the service was great. However, can you really be taken seriously for your pub food if you've run out of roast lunches at 1.15pm on a Sunday?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BG1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good service food not up to scratch”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked a table here for a party of 12 people. The service was very good and the staff friendly. The food however was not the best. Two steaks that were ordered medium were very overdone, almost white they were so dry...one was inedible. I have the liver and this was also very overcooked but I was a little drunk and very hungry so I ate it anyway.

If they sort the chef out and his overcooking habit this will be a nice place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Typical pub food, but cant seem to get the details right”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very unadventourous menu in all respects. Not even a nice fish and chips!

Our meals were nicely presented, but cooked well done, which is not what I would expect for liver or hamburger- touch of pink please. Very attentive service, but how can an almost empty pub get the important details wrong?? There was no ice for drinks ( but they didnt tell us till afterwards) , and no semi-skimmed milk for the coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harrow also viewed

 
Chiddingfold, Godalming
 

Been to The Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing