We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It helps to have a sense of humour at this place.....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It helps to have a sense of humour at this place.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Booked table for 8pm - on arrival main car park full - lucky we were in the Land Rover as you needed 4 wheel drive to traverse through the overgrown track to the car park at the rear. We waited patiently by the restaurant for someone to notice that we had arrived. On being noticed we were told our table was not ready and could we go into bar and have a drink. We sat down at table at 8:45pm. Due to a very busy restaurant and only 1.5 people serving (one member of staff was doing something else and only appeared very occasionally) we managed to order food just after 9pm. Just as I was thinking of going into the kitchen to help with the cooking the food arrived at 9:45pm. Suprise! it wasn't hot and must have been waiting for a while as it was pretty dried out. My wife's burger was inedible - tough as leather. This was so bad we were laughing. We thought we would risk pudding - this too took forever to arrive and the portion size was derisory. On finishing the puddings we realised that the time was 11pm and as we wanted to get home before 12pm we skipped coffee. I mounted a search party to find anyone that would take our money so that we could go home. 10 minutes later the waitress appeared and we paid. She was not happy about the small tip but in retrospect I am not sure why we tipped at all. Our friends booked the table and were very embarassed about the evening - shame 'casue it wasn't their fault. With so many restaurants and pubs in the locality offering great food I wonder how this place survives........

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
42
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here last night as we are emigrating today. We're both local and whilst we've been past the hotel many many times over the last 30 years we've never been in.

We arrived at 10pm - the sofa bed for our children was missing so that took 20 minutes to sort out. The music downstairs was clearly audible until at least 11.45pm, as were the people sitting outside. And then we were woken at 6am to see a mouse darting around the room. We managed to get a photograph. Tried to call reception from my mobile (no phone in room) but no answer. We didn't fancy eating breakfast there so went to the Beefeater down the road (couldn't fault it and wish we'd stayed there!). Went back to see the Manager at 9am who had already issued a full refund. Refused to reimburse us for our breakfast as he said their's is included in the room price. Most certainly not worth £99, even without the mouse! May look nice in the photos but is all superficial.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupsiecola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in 13 hotels during our visit to the UK, over a period of three weeks. Definitely in the top two. The food was excellent and easily the best during our holiday. Room cost was one of the more reasonable and a wonderful complimentary breakfast is included. Don't bother thinking too much about it - just book!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clinton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Staff and atmosphere is fantastic - love the food, especially the duck salad.
Quite expensive for pub food, although for a treat its great! Well worth eating here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I went to the Inn On The Hill with my husband for a bite to eat on Bank Holiday Monday, we were lucky to get a table as it was very busy - always a good sign! We both decided to have the burger having seen it arrive on someone else's table. And we weren't disappointed! The burger was amazing, one of the best - the added chorizo makes it even more tasty.
The service was very good, with the restaurant so busy we were served promptly which is always good.
The Inn On The Hill is definitely worth a visit for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Great pub with rooms, good condition& clean, despite some inperfections. No phones in rooms, no room service as It was explained that refurbishment will be taking place. Complimentary cooked breakfast was nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegaus_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Having been here a few months previously we visited again in mid Feb.

The thing that should be made clear is that they are currently waiting for the rooms to be refurbished. Now, things are still ok but little things like a missing towel rail, the odd light bulb missing and other fittings wonky or shabby would spoil the stay if you didn't know beforehand that a refurbishment is on its way.

This isn't really made clear but after chatting with the Manager, Laurie, this was explained.

We checked in at around 7pm on a Friday and the bar was busy and buzzing and the chap behind the bar was polite, friendly and helpful. No problem finding our way to the room as it's just through the door from where you check in.

Overall the staff are very polite and helpful and if you have any problems just ask them and they'll sort it out for you. Unfortunately, things they can't help with is the TV reception, Wi-Fi reception and decoration. But I'm sure all this will be sorted when the place is 'done up'.

Our room on this visit was very big, comfortable and warm enough (it went down to minus 12 on our first night!) but with windows that opened should it get stuffy. Everything was present and correct - kettle (with a very short lead!), cups, pillows, soaps, towels etc etc.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good gastro pub style food served excellently and with a smile. The wine (served by Laurie) was also served to perfection! It was busy and we did book in advance and i was advise that if you want to eat, especially at a weekend, to make sure you book.

The bar and restaurant get very busy on a Friday/Saturday but the staff are great and know who's next to be served and seem on the ball.

Breakfast - which was a big disappointment last time - was 100% better. Adequate quantities of croissants, cereals, juices and jams were all available and a cooked breakfast (at no extra cost) could also be ordered.

We were informed by the breakfast waiter to ignore the prices on the menu and he would take our order. The first morning i had poached eggs and bacon and the second the full English. Both were superb and was certainly a great way to start the day! free newspapers to read is also a nice touch.

The grounds of the place are very pretty and although we didn't sit outside on this visit (it was freezing!) it looks a great place to soak up the sun with a beer in the summer months. The location is also excellent and within a 20 minute or so walk into Godalming centre or to The Refectory.

It's certainly a place i would consider if visiting the area again and once the refurbishment goes ahead this will be a top place for the price if all the other great points remain.

Room Tip: Don't be too disappointed re TV/WiFi reception until the refurb has been finished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroadsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.3 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Address: The Inn on the Lake | Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing