We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable - great atmosphere and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Buderim, Australia
1 review
“Very comfortable - great atmosphere and location”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Spent a very comfortable night here on a family visit from Australia. After a lot of travelling, we were relieved to find a spacious and nicely renovated room with an impressive modern bathroom. Facilities were good - kettle, cups hairdryer, etc. and staff couldn’t have been more helpful, even to helping me call back to family in Australia. Nice homely atmosphere in the well laid out public areas and particularly enjoyed the breakfast which was fresh and plentiful. The location is great with easy access to Guildford and close to some of the nicest parts of the Surrey countryside. In all, very good value for money for 3 adults in a triple room. One of our best nights in the UK, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
43
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed in room 8, good sized room with nice view to rear. Bathroom hidden in wardrobe a nice touch. Bed on the soft side. 10 min wait for dinner as was very busy, Food was well presented, enjoyable, but over priced. Lager selection on Draft should be improved. Breakfast was Good, plenty for selection, good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr85hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here just for one night for a family get together and thought it was really good value for money. The room was nicely done out, as were all the public areas, and the grounds were lovely for a stroll around with the kids. We had a good meal here on Saturday night with no problems although we noticed that as the night drew on and the restaurant got busier the service got worse. Only criticism would be that the beds weren't that comfortable, apart from that would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopsngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We live locally, so didn't stay over, merely having breakfast. It's one of the few places to find an early breakfast (not too many greasy spoon cafes in Surrey).

The dining room wasn't that full, so it was nice to munch through the delicious and substantial breakfast in peace. The menu isn't vast but the food is excellent.

Service was very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matt66w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Booked table for 8pm - on arrival main car park full - lucky we were in the Land Rover as you needed 4 wheel drive to traverse through the overgrown track to the car park at the rear. We waited patiently by the restaurant for someone to notice that we had arrived. On being noticed we were told our table was not ready and could we go into bar and have a drink. We sat down at table at 8:45pm. Due to a very busy restaurant and only 1.5 people serving (one member of staff was doing something else and only appeared very occasionally) we managed to order food just after 9pm. Just as I was thinking of going into the kitchen to help with the cooking the food arrived at 9:45pm. Suprise! it wasn't hot and must have been waiting for a while as it was pretty dried out. My wife's burger was inedible - tough as leather. This was so bad we were laughing. We thought we would risk pudding - this too took forever to arrive and the portion size was derisory. On finishing the puddings we realised that the time was 11pm and as we wanted to get home before 12pm we skipped coffee. I mounted a search party to find anyone that would take our money so that we could go home. 10 minutes later the waitress appeared and we paid. She was not happy about the small tip but in retrospect I am not sure why we tipped at all. Our friends booked the table and were very embarassed about the evening - shame 'casue it wasn't their fault. With so many restaurants and pubs in the locality offering great food I wonder how this place survives........

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here last night as we are emigrating today. We're both local and whilst we've been past the hotel many many times over the last 30 years we've never been in.

We arrived at 10pm - the sofa bed for our children was missing so that took 20 minutes to sort out. The music downstairs was clearly audible until at least 11.45pm, as were the people sitting outside. And then we were woken at 6am to see a mouse darting around the room. We managed to get a photograph. Tried to call reception from my mobile (no phone in room) but no answer. We didn't fancy eating breakfast there so went to the Beefeater down the road (couldn't fault it and wish we'd stayed there!). Went back to see the Manager at 9am who had already issued a full refund. Refused to reimburse us for our breakfast as he said their's is included in the room price. Most certainly not worth £99, even without the mouse! May look nice in the photos but is all superficial.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pupsiecola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in 13 hotels during our visit to the UK, over a period of three weeks. Definitely in the top two. The food was excellent and easily the best during our holiday. Room cost was one of the more reasonable and a wonderful complimentary breakfast is included. Don't bother thinking too much about it - just book!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clinton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
1.3 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
4.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Address: The Inn on the Lake, Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing