We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Varies between a 3 rating and a 5” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
farnborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Varies between a 3 rating and a 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed at the Inn on the Lake for 3 nights, which varied from night to night (admittedly a lot to do with other guests, over which the hotel has no control). When you enter, check-in is marked at one end of the bar, but unfortunately staff serving at the other end of the bar can't see it. I had to wait a bit and go and find someone to check me in, but once they did, they were helpful. All the rooms are upstairs, and mine was also up a further small flight of stairs, so these not recommended if you have mobility problems. Hotel seemed busy the first night (a Monday), particularly with guests who couldn't shut a door without banging it - this went on until about 1:30am (may have been staff locking up at that time). Room was fine, clean, plenty of tea and coffee, good kettle, clean towels - but no water or glasses. Shower needed to be run for several minutes before there was any hot water. Night 2 was quiet, night 3 noisy again. Plenty of pastries on the first morning and a cooked breakfast offered (at extra charge). Second morning breakfast supplies low, third OK again. I'm sure if I'd asked they would have brought things out. Tip for the hotel - the open fire in the restaurant is beautiful, it's a shame to put a table of people across the front of it so everyone doesn't get the benefit.

All in all, if you want perhaps a weekend night stay, a lovely dinner with wine and a nearby bed to stagger to, it's ideal. If you're a light sleeper, perhaps not.

Room Tip: The room I was in (12) overlooks the covered smoking tables outside, I should think in the summer if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnboroughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    31
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
42
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed for one night, probably one of the busiest of the year for them, it was the Friday before Christmas.

I arrived at about 17:00 and found a parking space in the over flow car park, the check in was a bit slow as the staff were busy at the bar. Once checked in, the room was clean, spacious with a comfortable bed. The rooms were pretty quiet considering the noise levels in the bar downstairs.

I didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food offering.

Staff were clearly busy but attentive when dealing with guests.

A nice, affordable hotel in an accessible location. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The rooms are far nicer now they have been re-decorated. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. We came for a freinds birthday and needed to check in early, We didn't call ahead but they checked us in with out a problem and helped us with our bags. We had a wonderful visit and look forward to our next trip to the inn on the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Black21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Spent a very comfortable night here on a family visit from Australia. After a lot of travelling, we were relieved to find a spacious and nicely renovated room with an impressive modern bathroom. Facilities were good - kettle, cups hairdryer, etc. and staff couldn’t have been more helpful, even to helping me call back to family in Australia. Nice homely atmosphere in the well laid out public areas and particularly enjoyed the breakfast which was fresh and plentiful. The location is great with easy access to Guildford and close to some of the nicest parts of the Surrey countryside. In all, very good value for money for 3 adults in a triple room. One of our best nights in the UK, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed in room 8, good sized room with nice view to rear. Bathroom hidden in wardrobe a nice touch. Bed on the soft side. 10 min wait for dinner as was very busy, Food was well presented, enjoyable, but over priced. Lager selection on Draft should be improved. Breakfast was Good, plenty for selection, good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr85hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here just for one night for a family get together and thought it was really good value for money. The room was nicely done out, as were all the public areas, and the grounds were lovely for a stroll around with the kids. We had a good meal here on Saturday night with no problems although we noticed that as the night drew on and the restaurant got busier the service got worse. Only criticism would be that the beds weren't that comfortable, apart from that would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopsngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We live locally, so didn't stay over, merely having breakfast. It's one of the few places to find an early breakfast (not too many greasy spoon cafes in Surrey).

The dining room wasn't that full, so it was nice to munch through the delicious and substantial breakfast in peace. The menu isn't vast but the food is excellent.

Service was very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matt66w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.3 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.4 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Address: The Inn on the Lake | Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing