We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Overall a pleasant stay, plus points include nice decor in the room and restaurant, nice large shower and comfy bedding. The staff were also friendly, and it was handy to have parking right outside the inn.

However, the lighting in the room was not good for women, the shadows from the lighting meant putting make up on was very difficult, and we resorted to using small vanity mirrors propped up against the window. Our room happened to over-look the area where all the Biffa bins are kept for the inn, which didn't create a very nice view, but was also a pain when they were emptying bottles into the bins at midnight when you are trying to sleep. The windows are not double glazed.

Breakfast was fine, but the continental options were very limited with few cereals.

Overall, I would use this inn again, but I would specifically request not to be put in a room over-looking the bins again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    30
    20
    12
See reviews for
31
43
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have always been satisfied. I think the value for money is excellent considering it is Surrey. Very clean with very helpful staff and our room was extremely warm and cosy. People complain about noise, slamming doors etc, well that really is not the fault of the hotel, they cannot control the behaviour of their guests, going on personal experience and having stayed in many hotels I have found this always to be some what of a problem, but surely to be expected ! Will definately be staying again when visiting Surrey

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireOap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longhope, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake 10th March for 2 nights. The room was lovely, clean and airy and warm (it was snowing outside!). Gorgeous stone effect bathroom. We ate in the restaurant for 2 nights, the second night was a family party and we had a great time - the food was fabulous and the service attentive. Recommend you try the Mediterraneous Mezze - it's huge!
We paid extra for the cooked breakfast and it was well worth it - quality ingredients and really well cooked. Don't often see Eggs Benedict on a breakfast menu.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay, no complaints, friendly staff and quality food. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinG813, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

To check in we had to go and search out someone from the kitchens- once we found her we were dealt with efficiently. I was filled with dread as i walked through the hall to our room- it definitely had a pub like smell to it, however all that disappeared once in our room. The room was furnished in a modern style with comfortable beds, pillows and quilts and a nice (but cold) bathroom that had a very efficient shower.
There were 2 gripes with the room. 1. All lighting came from above - be it on the vanity mirror in the bedroom or in the bathroom, applying make up was a nightmare since it was all shadows. 2. The windows were not double glazed consequently there was a breeze and throughout the night i kept being woken by doors opening and closing outside.
Breakfast was continental (you could pay extra for cooked) but not a great choice and we had to ask them to cook toast.
All that said it's the only place in Godalming that i would go back to since despite it being a beautiful town it's quality of B&Bs is very poor. This is definitely number 1 on the list of 4 we have stayed at.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the busy road and those at the back seem let in a lot of noises and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We thought it would be a good idea to stay the night after a family birthday party as we came from Kent. I have to say that we enjoyed the experience. The staff were very good and nothing was any trouble even though they were extremely busy. The room was excellent with a view over the lake, and very comfortable. I wouldn't hestitate to stay again coupled with the meal we had it was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden-Oldetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We booked late and only stayed for one night but we had a good time from the time we arrived the staff were attentive the food was top quality in the restaurant (book a table when you book your room) and included a full English breakfast as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed at the Inn on the Lake for 3 nights, which varied from night to night (admittedly a lot to do with other guests, over which the hotel has no control). When you enter, check-in is marked at one end of the bar, but unfortunately staff serving at the other end of the bar can't see it. I had to wait a bit and go and find someone to check me in, but once they did, they were helpful. All the rooms are upstairs, and mine was also up a further small flight of stairs, so these not recommended if you have mobility problems. Hotel seemed busy the first night (a Monday), particularly with guests who couldn't shut a door without banging it - this went on until about 1:30am (may have been staff locking up at that time). Room was fine, clean, plenty of tea and coffee, good kettle, clean towels - but no water or glasses. Shower needed to be run for several minutes before there was any hot water. Night 2 was quiet, night 3 noisy again. Plenty of pastries on the first morning and a cooked breakfast offered (at extra charge). Second morning breakfast supplies low, third OK again. I'm sure if I'd asked they would have brought things out. Tip for the hotel - the open fire in the restaurant is beautiful, it's a shame to put a table of people across the front of it so everyone doesn't get the benefit.

All in all, if you want perhaps a weekend night stay, a lovely dinner with wine and a nearby bed to stagger to, it's ideal. If you're a light sleeper, perhaps not.

Room Tip: The room I was in (12) overlooks the covered smoking tables outside, I should think in the summer if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnboroughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.3 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
4.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
443 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
689 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Address: The Inn on the Lake, Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing