We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jolly good Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming
Ranked #15 of 18 Godalming B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Popped back to England for quick visit. Stayed here for one night as we know it as our local 'pub'. Booked a family room (#1) for 2 adults & 2 kids. Big room with double bed and double sofa-bed with still room enough to walk around. Nice bathroom. Located at back of hotel, away from train line. It was hot in England, but the windows had security locks on so we couldn't open the windows very wide. However, the management will give you an oscillating fan for the room, if you ask. Room cost UK95 pounds including Continental Breakfast was good value - including freshly cut pineapple (although my croissant a little underdone). My husband ate a very good, big English breakfast also. We've eaten dinner here before which we enjoyed. Nice al-fresco dining area and a huge beer garden. All in all, it didn't disappoint! Would definitely stay again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel avoid the occasional train line noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Inn on The Lake, Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, arriving late after a long hot journey. It all looked so lovely with a friendly buzz in the bar, chic good looks and large comfy twin room. However, we were most disgruntled to find we were at the back overlooking the kitchen area (view not a problem in the dark!) with a very noisy generator underneath the old windows which had to be open on such a hot night. Unfortunately there were no free rooms to move us to but a generous discount was immediately offered by a sympathetic manager. The next night, even through earplugs, we listened to the generator continuing its loud chorus, this time accompanied by kitchen staff bumping beer barrels around at 1.15am, throwing bottles into the skip, chatting loudly over the generator, and taking a delivery at 7am. Argh!!
Unfortunately the continental breakfast did not overwhelm either (surely decant the porridge not serve it in its just-add-boiling-water cardboard pot?!). Oh dear...

Having said all that, the space is really nice; the décor clean & appealing; the restaurant highly recommended by locals; the terrace & garden just gorgeous; all the staff very friendly; and senior staff capable of handling a grumpy customer most diplomatically! Also our promised refund arrived promptly. Having read other reviews saying the rooms at the front are also noisy, I can only appeal to the Bosses...put in double glazing & air conditioning asap!!

We have local friends so this is the ideal place for us to stay in the future and the restaurant menu does look delicious. We are looking forward to trying again...fingers crossed the windows have been upgraded!!

Room Tip: At the front may be better noise levels than over the kitchen at the back, and apparently have nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DecorTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Inn on the Lake, Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Checked in about 4pm, and were given room 10, which appeared quite nice when we went in, but first impressions can be deceptive. No airconditioning, and the room was like an oven. We asked for, and were given, a fan but it made little or no difference. The heat in the room made it impossible to sleep. if you opened the patio style window, the outside terrace and tables were immediately below, and the noise was incessant.. If you were on the other side of the hotel, you had the noise from the kichens. The Tv appeared to have only 6 channels, and the shower door did not close tightly, letting water leak out onto the floor. The flushing handle on the toilet worked only intermittently, and one of the managers had to come and show us how to operate it, so they obviously knew it had been giving trouble. Both our meals in the restaurant had to be returned to the kitchen because they were undercooked, as was a steak served to a gentleman at a nearby table. This is a country pub, and should not be used as a hotel. The atmosphere and conditions are not suitable for guests staying overnight. Could not complain about the staff, they were pretty decent overall, and the restaurant manager did refund us the cost of the undercooked meals.

Room Tip: There aren't any. This is a country pub, and does not work as an hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank n0rcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Inn on The Lake, Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed at this Inn whilst on business and couldn't have been more disappointed. On first impression, walking into the bar area, it looked very nice. Modern, stylish, inviting. But it was all down hill from there. On arriving in my room I found the toilet had been used (and not even flushed), the sink was dirty, covered in very obvious blue toothpaste stains, and there was no hand soap in sight. I went back downstairs to ask for soap and let them know how I found the room and was offered another room (well handled). My second room also had no hand soap, which was quickly rectified, and although the toilet and sink were cleaner than the last room, the overall standard of cleanliness was well below average. There were cob webs all over the place, dirty walls, dirty net curtains, dirty tea cups...it was never ending. I was pretty disgusted to be honest, which made my stay there quite uncomfortable. The only good thing about the room was the shower.

Breakfast was another massive disappointment. I am not a particularly fussy eater but honestly, only 50% of my meal was edible. Given the cooked breakfast cost extra, I was seriously unimpressed. I also noticed once again that everything was grubby, the glassware, the cutlery, the plates, all had a film of grease on them. The coffee was the only bit I enjoyed.

Based on the two rooms I experienced, this place needs some attention. Especially in the area of housekeeping! Felt very short changed and let down and have no intention of going back there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br00nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming. Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and we have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located on a roundabout, make sure you get a room at the back to avoid traffic noise. The room itself was small but well refurbished - nice old country style. The bathroom was good but big step up into the shower (no bath). Bed was small (4'6") which is unusual these days, and the room was very hot overnight (couldn't open the window due to the noise). Breakfast was good with a nice selection and the bar / restaurant was excellent for dinner. Reception is in the bar area which can be busy if you arrive in the evening. Lovely patio area outside if the weather is nice.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Inn on the Lake, Innkeeper's Lodge, Godalming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

At first appearance this small boutique hotel is nicely presented and welcoming. with the reception in the bar check in was efficient and friendly and Sam helped me to my room with my bags which was very helpful. The room (14) was nicely decorated and well equipped (flat screen TV, nice ensuite, ironing board and plenty of tea and coffee provided etc, etc) My room overlooked the lake and restaurant terrace area which was both a plus (the view) and a negative (the noise from patrons). The bar & restaurant was directly below my room and the sound system meant that it was quite noisy. My stay was one night, mid week and a business trip which meant that I expected to get a good nights sleep - the music was turned off at midnight! then an hour or so later a lot of banging doors which I assume was either other guests or staff leaving. Once past first glance at the room decor there are a number of very annoying aspects that just meant that my stay was only average: The large patio windows (juliet balcony on 1st floor) overlooking the terrace were only dressed with thick curtains which meant a lack of privacy or lack of light if I drew the curtains! The shower enclosure door didn't close which meant that the bath mat was sopping wet when I stepped out. The bedside reading lights were wired up with the main light which meant it was BRIGHT, not ambient! two of the sockets in the room didn't work. I have to say that as an eatery the restaurant quality of food was excellent and I get the feeling that the rooms are an 'add on' - leaving me to conclude that the Inn on the Lake is all fur coat and no knickers! Not sure where other reviews feel this is good value, yes I only paid £95 for the night but value is relative to the quality of experience.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then ask for a room not overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Inn on the Lake, Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a bit of a find, we think, as it's great value for money - particularly in Surrey!! It's very convenient for Godalming and the whole place is stylish and comfortable. Our bedroom was well appointed (particularly nice bathroom) and we had a great bacon sarnie for breakfast!
Our only complaint was that the kitchen was below our room so it was rather noisy, with the windows open, until quite late - but it's a working hotel so we weren't too upset, especially at the price!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
272 reviews
4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming

Address: The Inn on the Lake Ockford Road, Godalming GU7 1RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lakeside lodge is just five miles south of Guildford, and so makes for a characterful yet convenient base for short breaks in Surrey. Surrounded by picturesque gardens, this recently refreshed hotel and refurbished pub make the most of views across the lake and it certainly fulfills its purpose, providing the perfect retreat in which to unwind and enjoy some of the finest countryside in Southern England.Food lovers are in for a treat, as the lodge is home to a stylish pub serving seasonal dishes complimented by a great selection of wines, ales and lagers. Goldalming is something of a Surrey jewel, with its cottages nestled against a backdrop of beautiful wooded hills by the River Wey. A few miles up the road is Guildford, where you can explore the cathedral and its 20 acres of parkland, or stroll around the gardens of the old castle. The National Trust's Clandon Park mansion and 18th century Hatchlands Park are well worth a visit too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Godalming
Innkeeper's Lodge Godalming Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing