We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Godalming
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hospitality”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

What a wonderful experience. Fantastic hospitality, excellent room to sleep in with very comfy bed and very clean. wish I could have stayed longer. The atmosphere around in the evening when I arrived was very relaxed and people were really enjoying their food. Unfortunately I didn't get to sample the food from this Pub, but I did enjoy dinner at another of the pubs owned by this company and that was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Stag on the River. It's really great to hear such positive feedback and this is always shared with all the team who work hard to make it happen. I'm also really glad to hear you visited one of our sister pubs and enjoyed your experience there. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Stag soon!

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    89
    19
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
124
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great find in lovely part of the world, contemporary, clean and well presented rooms in a building full of character and style. Service and food top knotch, amazing job by the chef with a wealth of locally sourced produce. The kind of place that can be enjoyed year round......will be returning soon and will be telling all about.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Stag on the River and thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us. We've tried really hard to offer all the amenities of a large hotel (with a little extra!) whilst maintaining the character of the building and providing a warm and friendly environment. We look forward to seeing you at The Stag in the near future!

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I love country pubs which do good food and there are loads of these in the Guildford and Surrey Hills area. Chose this one on basis of other reviews and ease of access from A3 and we weren't disappointed. I had taken the precaution of booking a table for lunch as the weather was expected to be good but when we arrived there were lots of seats available outside in the pretty and large patio/garden. We chose a sunny area but soon found the heat unbearable and chose a shady spot beside the river which runs alongside-- the staff were very helpful in moving us. We had an excellent sharing charcuteri platter, 3 mains, 2 desserts and a bottle of reasonably priced Sauvignon Blanc-- all the food was good quality and served quite quickly and efficiently by the smiley, youngish staff. Its the setting which is the star here -- nothing beats a good hot day with the river running soothingly a few feet away and people fishing on the opposite bank plus good company and food. Even my wife who is notoriously fussy was impressed with the Stag and its relaxed ambience. The village also seemed very pretty and worth exploring on another visit. If it wasn't for the fact that we only live half an hour away, would have been tempted to take a room for the night. Highly recommended and a special word for the staff who were unfailingly helpful, attentive and charming-- very well done and we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigo242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Stag on the River. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We're really proud of our outside area (we just need a few more sunny days to enjoy it !!) and I'm really glad you found it a nice setting to enjoy our fresh and seasonal food. Your comments regarding our staff are really encouraging. We work hard to recruit a happy, attentive and customer focused team to provide a casual but professional service. I look forward to seeing you at The Stag again soon.

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hadn't visited for a while but enjoyed a lovely mid week lunch at this beautiful pub. Better quality seating now in the garden since my last visit with the sounds of the river making for a very tranquil setting on a beautiful afternoon. Very friendly staff and good service, with a very varied menu to suit all pockets made for another pleasant experience at the Stag. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezziehoohahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Stag on the River. We redesigned our patio area a couple of years ago and we're very pleased with the results. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Stag on the River soon.

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Walked over from Godalming and met some friends for dinner. I've been here several times and it's always met my expectations. Great location, friendly & helpful staff and lovely food. Can't ask for more

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank badger975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, General Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to The Stag on the River. It's great to hear you had a nice evening and we always very much appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you at The Stag on the River again soon!

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

ive been meaning to write a review for sometime, we went for lunch and it was (IMHO) awful from start to finish.
we were greated by a scruffy looking man who was grasping a sheet of paper, clearly quite stressed. he seated us at our table, the seats were coverd in what i can only assume was plasterboard as there was a lot of noise from over head. he then passed us on to his work mate who asked us if we would like a drink which we did. we waited 20mins for them then another 20mins for our starters, which werent that great. the pub was packed with many diners waiting up to 1hour for there starters (we over heard them saying)and another table 2hours for mains.

food was "nothing to write home about" and for the price of it, it should have been.

i would like to add that we never had the same waiter/waitress somebody different everytime they came to the table. we could hear the two men behind the bar gossiping about other customers. and we could clearly hear the "cooks" swearing.

all the staff seemed over worked,
as we left nobody even noticed a simple goodbye would have been nice.
we left dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam M, Manager at The Stag on the River, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Stag on the River. I'm very sorry that, on this occasion, you left disappointed.

As the time you visited was a little while ago, it's very hard for me to relate it to an exact date, however I would like to reassure you that a service as described, is indeed a very rare occurrence. On what I believe to be the date in question, we had more than double the number of customers that we usually had at that time of year, all arrive at once, and we weren't prepared for it. We very quickly took measures to rectify this.

At the time of your visit in March, we did have building work ongoing upstairs to convert a part of the building into additional B&B rooms and I'm sorry that you experienced the side effects of this, and it shouldn't of happened.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent service from start to finish, and fantastic fresh and seasonal food, in a unique atmosphere. We want every customer to leave having had a great experience and I can only apologise that this didn't happen on this occasion.

I very much hope that you can give The Stag on the River another try in the future.

Sam Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Had previously stopped at The Stag for meal and was so impressed that we decided to stay the night. We were en route to Heathrow and The Stag is conveniently located just off the A3 and is less than 45 minutes drive to Heathrow. Booked room through their website and was also able to book table for diner online. On arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room. A small room compared to big hotels but was very comfortable and had everything that we needed. Room had a very comfortable bed, well equipped bathroom with a super shower (no bath). In the room were tea and coffee making facilities and a bottle of beer from local Tongham Brewery. Milk and bottled water were available in a fridge close to the room. Wi-Fi was free and worked well so we were able to check in online for the following day’s flight. Large TV, desk and wardrobe all in the room.
The food served in the restaurant was absolutely superb. We had a starter, main, wine and coffee and it was all that we could eat. Food well presented by friendly and helpful staff. A good selection of wine available and the bar had 3 real ales. Breakfast in the morning was advertised as “continental” and was very good. Tea & Coffee served to order and help yourself to a selection of pastries, croissants, cereals, ham, fruit and proper bread that you could toast if required.
Compared to an “airport hotel” The Stag offered a very good service for a very reasonable price.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we’ll definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-the-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Property: The Stag on the River
Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing