We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, good service & friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely garden area in summer with tasty food & good service. Nicely decorated room with comfy bed, a bit on the small side with modern bathroom & big shower. Jackie was very accommodating in posting a new bottle of perfume I had left in the room. Classy without being pretentious!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The restaurant is the best feature of this picturesque riverside property. The food is great and there is a wonderful outside area for eating. Service is excellent and very professional.

Rooms are nice but mine was quite small and overlooked the beer garden so was quite noisy. Very clean and well appointed rooms.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGuruIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I really enjoyed the food here it was top notch. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful if a little busy (the challenge of serving lots of people outside). Normally that would have annoyed me but I was in no rush so it was fine.
The rooms are well appointed and have been refurbished recently. Everything is spotless and feels well maintained. Couple of small gripes - the room was very tight and there is no aircon so it was hot (now it was in the middle of a heatwave so...) No trouser press which is a problem for a business traveller. Shared iron in the hall cupboard.

All in all good and I would try again. Did I mention the food was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkboy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Recommended by local friends, so thought we'd book for my birthday lunch.
Due to the closure of A3 at Guildford, had to take a long detour and got slightly lost! anyway, phoned ahead to explain our predicament. The lady was most helpful and gave us some directions and our late arrival would not be a problem. The riverside setting is lovely and we spent a long leisurely lunch under the large umbrellas, enjoying lovely food and wine. The waiting staff were very attentive and friendly and we will certainly return! (oh and Andy Murray becoming the Wimbledon men's champion helped the celebrations!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 074Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Arrived at 22.00 to a very warm welcome from Lizi at reception, who showed us to our room.
How quaint. This is an 18c inn, and the walls and floors, on a slant, show it beautifully.

Well appointed, small bedroom, and good bathroom with quality toiletries and large fluffy towels. A

As a welcoming bottle of Hoggs Back Ale with two glasses had been left for us, we went and sat at a table by the river, relaxing to the sound of running water.

Breakfast next morning, and my wife and I had the dining room to ourselves for a great continental breakfast.

We returned at 12.00 for lunch, and again sat by the river, the pub slowly filling with diners, all being well attended to by the staff, who were all very accommodating and cheerful.

What more could one wish for?.........and how quintessentially English!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potteringharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Definitely not your run of the mill inn room and a lovely setting directly on the river. Our room and bathroom were very clean, nicely decorated and well appointed. The service was friendly and efficient throughout our stay. We booked their Sunday night dinner, bed and breakfast special (Three course dinner, no exclusions from their main menu, expanded continental breakfast and en-suite room) and thought this was exceptionally good value for £95.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuarto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed last weekend in this pub that offers nice rooms. The location is great, the pub offers good meals, breakfast, wine, ice creams and of course beer. The terrace is beautiful. Only...the beds are a bit small for 2 people. Big thumb up for the personnel, very kind. We were a group and we all enjoyed it. I would definitely advice a short stay, also just for a meal

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tambourine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
2.1 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
264 reviews
6.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
733 reviews
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: £62 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stag on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing