We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - But 1 Warning”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Godalming
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely - But 1 Warning”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Stag on the River for our Wedding Anniversary in November 2013, and we absolutely loved the Inn, which is in a beautiful location and an ideal Autumn / Winter place to stay. The dinner, bed and breakfast offer is very good and we enjoyed the food.

However, my one gripe is to do with the holding deposit, which is the total cost of your stay + an extra £30. We paid for our stay upon checkout, however it transpires that the holding deposit is not released back into your account for another 7 working days! Despite the payment for the stay being processed, which in my opinion is far too long, not a problem perhaps for the wealthy Surrey locals, but for someone like myself, it is extremely inconvenient for the cash flow.

In conclusion, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, but you might want to ensure that your account is suitably padded out to deal with the wait for your deposit to return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stampeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    89
    19
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
124
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Warm welcome, if somewhat effusive. Pleasant corner table, and prompt, polite service. Drinks served quickly, leaving sensible time to consider menu. Food very good,
Since it was bonfire night, very few customers, so very relaxed atmosphere. We trust similar standards are achieved when visiting on a busier night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

A lovely country pub in a picturesque village, surprising as it's so close to London. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing us with a local walking route, map with points of interest highlighted. Even in October sitting outside on the River was beautiful. We ate in the Restaurant and found the food to be excellent. All in all very good value for money. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of days here for my partners birthday. We wanted a log fire and country walks. What we actually got was a log fire, country walks and amazing food. Both evening meals were fantastic and the breakfast was great. Lovely atmosphere as well and we spent a lot of our stay just reading papers and drinking coffee feeling very relaxed and welcomed by all staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the fresh milk in the rooms was a real winner for me. Definitely going back soon. Really nice people and the chefs were a talented bunch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice little find thanks to a colleague / friend.

Rooms very well appointed and maintained. Comfortable beds, good linen and towels, own brand toiletries. Excellent showers.

Said there was WiFi but there isn't any in the two rooms we had. Says there is in the hotel guide but also no mention of password, you have to go back to the bar to find that out, as it is password protected in the public areas it seems , so that is fair enough.

Really nice tea and coffee tray but sadly no milk or creamer, so did not partake.

Only warning is that rooms at the front are over main door, where people sit outside and smoke.

Breakfast buffet is a little lack lustre, shame. Egg Boiler for self cook hard boiled eggs, nice breads fresh or toasting. Cheese, but fruit bowl drab and thin slices of grapefruit with skin on and same with the melon, very odd way to present them both. There is no cooked breakfast, which is fine for me but possible not for some. Comp newspapers out though.

Staff all very friendly and we also enjoyed a lovely dinner there.

Room Tip: Lovely location, good for Guilford and Godalming. No hair dryer for those that need them and phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous night here with 34 of our friends on my husbands' 40th Birthday in October. Champagne, followed by a 3 course meal, followed by cheese and more wine made it a very memorable night indeed. The food was cooked to perfection and utterly devine!
Prior to the event staff were both proactive with ideas and menu suggestions and totally accommodating of our wishes and requirements.
On the night itself we were thoroughly looked after by all working which was noticed by all of the guests in our party. We managed to secure all rooms for the occasion and with the suggestion of the Stag Manager arranged a group breakfast the next morning which was excellent too. A superb experience all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed our 4 day stay at this pub/hotel very much. The room was small but clean, well appointed and quiet. The location was very pleasant indeed beside an old mill and stream. The lounge and restaurant were comfortably rustic. However, what made it special was the way the staff attended to all our questions, gave us driving directions, served us breakfast, supper and bar drinks and were very friendly and helpful. We will not single anyone out as all the folks we spoke with had the same attitude from the more senior staff who signed us in to the chef's assistants in the kitchen. Their training must be terrific as we rate the staff outstanding. We are Canadians and this stay came after a 2 week road trip during which we had several less successful experiences with which to make comparisons. We would highly recommend The Stag on the River.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhys h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
703 reviews
5.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Property: The Stag on the River
Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing