We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, awful service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stag on the River

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Godalming
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average food, awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I reserved a table for lunch at 13:30 for our family (five of us including three kids). After waiting 30 minutes for our table we ordered immediately on sitting down. Although the kid's food came out reasonably quickly my wife's and my main courses arrived 50 minutes after sitting down.

Unfortunately it wasn't worth the wait as the food was nothing special. I'm surprised at the rave reviews for the food here as it isn't better than that in similar places in nearby villages (Shere, Cranleigh, Clandon, etc.).

Upon our remarking on the slow service of food, our waitress apologised said that the dining room was "understaffed" which I didn't quite believe as when we ordered most tables were relaxing over coffees and the waitstaff were hanging out together. In any event the front of house staffing wouldn't affect the speed of the kitchen unless the kitchen had prepared our food and then waitresses had left it under the heating lamps for half an hour. A possibility after how the food tasted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikechf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    84
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
62
120
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We booked The Stag On The River for our New Years Day Lunch as we fancied some good comforting food next to a log fire on a very wet day. We both ordered the Pork Belly and weren't disappointed by the meal with all it's lovely crackling and apple sauce. Leave room though as you'll need to try a Creme Brûlée to round off with.......!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iammac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

While staying with family we were taken to The Stag for dinner. Wow < the menu was excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. My roast pork had crackling to die for and the crowning glory was the most delicious Crème Brulee I have had for a long time.
To add to a perfect meal in pleasant surroundings the local Rotary Club provided a choir to serenade the diners with lovely Christmas Carols! I truly feel that Christmas has begun & advise everyone to visit this idyllic pub. .We didn't stay but the rooms are very nice and all individually designed. I can recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHARNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay here on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. I can normally find some fault with hotels/inns but not this time!!

From our arrival and check in to our breakfast and departure everything was perfect. The staff (Lizzie and our waitress) throughout were friendly and efficient and we enjoyed their hospitality. Dinner was superb and even though it was a very busy Friday night there were no delays. Wine prices were fine and the ales on offer were good. We completed a nice walk in the afternoon that I think is on the website and it passes another pub called the squirrel in if you fancy a wee drink.

Our room was called 'Brook' and was above the front door. Not a problem for us as we were eating and drinking downstairs but if you wanted an early quiet night then maybe a quieter room would suit. A fantastic comfy bed, excellent shower, flat screen tv and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

We had a cooked breakfast (possibly only available on weekends) and as expected it was delicious.

The management here have absolutely nailed it! Well done!! We're going back as soon as we can as its rare to leave a place as content as we did this morning..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We visited The Stag for a birthday meal after visiting the Duke of Cambridge (sister pub) and having a wonderful time. We definitely weren't disappointed with The Stag. It is an excellent place for a pint in a pub garden on a sunny day, but also a good place for a cosy dinner in winter. It was much less busy I was expecting, but perhaps this is because it is tucked away? It is a friendly pub with good service - would visit again for a sunshiney pub or tasty dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FairyTaleDreamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Stag on the River for our Wedding Anniversary in November 2013, and we absolutely loved the Inn, which is in a beautiful location and an ideal Autumn / Winter place to stay. The dinner, bed and breakfast offer is very good and we enjoyed the food.

However, my one gripe is to do with the holding deposit, which is the total cost of your stay + an extra £30. We paid for our stay upon checkout, however it transpires that the holding deposit is not released back into your account for another 7 working days! Despite the payment for the stay being processed, which in my opinion is far too long, not a problem perhaps for the wealthy Surrey locals, but for someone like myself, it is extremely inconvenient for the cash flow.

In conclusion, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here, but you might want to ensure that your account is suitably padded out to deal with the wait for your deposit to return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stampeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Warm welcome, if somewhat effusive. Pleasant corner table, and prompt, polite service. Drinks served quickly, leaving sensible time to consider menu. Food very good,
Since it was bonfire night, very few customers, so very relaxed atmosphere. We trust similar standards are achieved when visiting on a busier night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
2.1 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Property: The Stag on the River
Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing