We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Godalming
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag on the River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The reception for our Son's wedding was held at this venue and what an excellent choice that turned out to be. We enjoyed a traditional english breakfast before heading off to the church.
On our return from the wedding service all guests were greeted with an array of canapes and "wedding breakfast drinks". The setting and location coupled with the fine weather fitted the occasion perfectly and when it came to the more serious business of eating indoors the food and service was exceptional considering that they where catering for over 80 guests.
The service throughout the evening was of a high consistancy and we even ended the night with an outdoor hog-roast.
All in all it was a beautiful day complemented by a superbly presented and delivered reception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    89
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
124
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at the stag for our anniversery at a recommendation and we were not disappointed. The room was beautiful and easy too sleep in. The staff, fantastic, Lucy was very helpful following a phone call with my dad for a surprise of drinks. All the staff were warm and friendly, can't speak highly enough of them they were fantastoc. This was also of a high quality and we enjoyed both meals we would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you for a brilliant stay and we will be back again very soon!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Only ate here. We did not have a reservation on a Saturday evening but were offered a table on the terrace by the water. This was a terrific position on a warm sunny June evening. The staff were caring and attentive. The calves liver was perfectly cooked and delicious but was not served with vegetables. My home-made hamburger was meaty and succulent and served with lots of garnish and freshly cooked chips which my wife kept stealing. It was a lovely way to laze away a warm June evening,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A beautiful typically country pub, the customer service was outstanding, as I arrived I was greeted, asked if I would like to take a seat for food, or head to the bar, we headed to the bar and ordered a large rosè, and half a fosters! Which came to roughly £8.00, which is a little more than usual, however expected in godalming! We sat outside by the river, it was noticeably very busy! A popular pub! Would definitely return for food! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadielouiseshennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from 4 nights at The Stag staying with some friends for a walking break. Excellent staff and a lovely comfortable room to come back to every day. Food was delicious and a good choice although not cheap. No cooked breakfast during the week which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a beautiful setting and the room has every amenity you could want with very nice touches. However our stay was let down from the initial phone conversation to try to book the room when we were told it would be easier for them if we went online to book. Our booking also informed us that we would only get a continental breakfast only to find out when we came down for the morning that a full breakfast was available. Shame we had already made alternative plans by then. Further to this when we asked for a local taxi number we given one based in Guildford who quoted 5 times the price we paid for the taxi number we were given in a nearby pub. I guess the short way of saying this would be that the hotel really needs to train its staff to the standard its setting, rooms and prices demand,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharltonEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Stag on the river for my sons 4th Birthday. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after and the staff couldn't do enough - they staff were so accommodating. The restaurant/inn is set in a gorgeous location, and the actual restaurant and the rooms are impeccable. We had the family room which was very spacious for a family of 4. It has to be said that the beds are like sleeping on a cloud - best night sleep that i have had in a long time! The food was simply delicious and the service was spot on. I really cant fault this place and we will definitely be returning. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our stay so enjoyable x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
2.1 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
4.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
444 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag on the River

Property: The Stag on the River
Address: Lower Eashing Road, Godalming GU7 2QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag on the River is an authentic and charming riverside pub set in the beautiful Surrey country side just outside of the town of Godalming. It has seven letting bedrooms all with their own ensuite facilities, unique character and tasteful decoration. Inspiring, rustic and hearty food and drink made from the best ingredients our local land has to offer awaits those who stay for dinner and a drink. You will always receive the warmest of welcomes at the Stag ....... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stag On The River Hotel Godalming
The Stag On The River Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing