We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hambledon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hambledon House
Ranked #5 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

the house is a real treasure trove of beautiful furniture and antiques- ornate but still a real homey laid back vibe, with lovely grounds and tennis court. Bedrooms are really big and luxurious.
Our highlight was the food though- chef Bron laid on an absolute feast and went to a lot of trouble for us- really friendly family and a highly enjoyable stay. Would definitely go back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    6
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
19
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hambledon is a beautiful and fascinating house set in the perfect English countryside. It is an idyllic spot for a break from the city and the hosts are warm, extremely hospitable and very good fun. You will feel welcomed into this amazing house.
Bron makes really and truly delicious food and meals boast wonderful company.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

what a fantastic night we had at a social dinner party, great food and great company, thoroughly recommend it !!!! Hoping to go to the next social dinner party , if you get a chance please try it you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hambledon House is not a guest house or B&B, it is an experience. It is a unique insight into the life, times and travels of a family. The eclectic mix of furniture, artwork and personal objects are a far cry from the normal decor you would find almost anywhere. It brings quintessential English country side and foreign lands together topped with wonderful food produced in the kitchen by your hostess. No two meals are ever the same and no culinary delight is too much trouble. I won't recommend I would just say don't dismiss the idea if you want a unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Amazing house! Really comfortable bedroom, we could not believe the size of the bathroom. Just what we needed as a break from city life. Breakfast was amazeballs!

Thoroughly reccomend it to anyone from city breakers to people after a short break

Room Tip: Recommned the africa suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and it was during weekdays as I was visiting a client office in Guildford. Though this place is perfect for a relaxed holiday, it was a refreshing change compared to the standard hotel chains people stay during business tours. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast they server is freshly prepared and better than what is served in 5 star hotels. The suites are huge and beautifully decorated. I would recommend this place to anyone who is travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManasR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My fiancee and I spent The Valentines weekend at Hambledon House - it was a memorable and atmospheric experience. There was a massive storm with hurricane type winds resulting in a power cut over the whole of the surroudine area…nothing daunted the wonderful Bron lit the huge log fire in the hall and constructed a rack system upon which she managed to produce an outstanding full English breakfast with not a blink!
The night before we played gin rummy by candlelight and enjoyed swopping life stories with the owners after a delicious fine side supper since every pub and restaurant for miles around was firmly shut due to no power.
Great fun, stunning house, gardens, lake and Golden Retrievers…
We will be back soon with or without electricity!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
4.1 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
3.7 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 5 in Chiddingfold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hambledon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hambledon House

Property: Hambledon House
Address: Hambledon House Vann Lane | Hambledon, Godalming GU8 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hambledon House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hambledon House is a much loved family home, full of antiques, collectables, there is a story everywhere. All the rooms have the charm of the Arts and Crafts era. We love to welcome all our guests and pride ourselves on our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Hambledon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambledon House Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing