We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for great improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Room for great improvement”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Having stayed here one quiet Sunday night in Feb in the best room, we found it very pleasant. So much so, that we booked the same room to go back a month later, this time in the week. In spite of booking so much in advance and phoning up to confirm it on the day, we arrived to find our specifically booked room had been given to someone else. There was no apology - in fact we were expected to feel grateful that they could accommodate us at all in the only room available. When asked why we had been bumped there was just a feeble excuse that there had been a mix up as the management had recently changed - a complete untruth as the management had changed at the beginning of Feb before our booking was made. So instead of the nice room we had booked we found ourselves in one that would have been in the 'shabby-chic' style, except it was so tired it was of the 'tatty-chic' variety.

There is very little parking as the hotel group that owns it decided to flog half the car park off to developers to make a fast buck a couple of years back so this time we had to park in a public car park. The final straw was breakfast – no fresh fruit, one measly rasher of bacon (but I did get 2 eggs as I had specifically asked for 2). They were stomach churningly presented like islands floating in a sea of grease…. Come back Premium Inns, all is forgiven!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    52
    42
    32
    33
See reviews for
28
59
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed with my wife this week - a bit apprehensive in the light of other reviews. It was fine. It is an old hotel with everything that goes with that, and you do have to askfor stuff - e.g. for a parking permit. On the plus side is its central location in a beautiful town, cheerful staff and perfectly reasonable rates - best rate in the Guildford area when we booked. New management are trying. Will use again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Appears / smells recently decorated as under new ownership. Staff friendly and helpful. Room at rear quiet and comfy but compact. Very clean and well located but would avoid front rooms due to revellers in main street!
Car parking at rear was full at tea time - assume staff as bar / hotel quiet?
Booking by internet worked ok - but couldn't get through by 'phone during day as reception not always manned?
Breakfast - good quality but cost controlled portions (new owners) won't spoil lunch.
Overall excellent value for money (£70 B&B) but would go elsewhere if the price rose much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g0ldcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

regarding my stay at the above hotel on Friday 28th January. I booked online using my credit card (book.com), when arriving at the hotel my sister and I were greeted with a very sloppy service. Reception was shut whilst the 3 staff members were drinking in the bar at a 5.30 pm. A young lady checked us in and asked for a cash payment up front. I was confused at this as I had already paid by credit card. I asked about this and also showed booking receipt, I was advised that the credit card was just to hold the room. I have just checked my credit card statement and found £75 charge from the Chapman Group, unbelievably I have paid twice. My sister and I were very tired after a 5 hour drive, the girl gave me a key for room 7 and advised she didn't know where the room was it was somewhere upstairs. No fire exits were visible and we were not advised either. The stay continued to get worse and worse. We came back downstairs and moved my car to the parking area at the back of the hotel. It was pitch black and only one space left, I could just about see a sign saying Kings Inn allocated parking space. We parked here, returned to the hotel and advised the girl we had parked in the allocated place. I asked if this was ok and she grunted at me - Yes!

After having breakfast on the Saturday morning I was devastated to find my brand new car had been clamped. I spoke with the Manager and he said it was nothing to do with him?? I asked why he thought that seeing as we were paying guests using the hotel car park. He advised we should have been given a permit to put in the window. We told him no one had advised us of this, he replied not my problem!! As we stood outside waiting for the clamping company to arrive, the manager came out with a permit and advised us to pretend it had fallen on the floor. The company who clamped the car Shoal Enforcement turned up to release the car, Mr ??? who had clamped the car advised us he had been into the hotel and asked if the car belonged to guests, to which the manager replied no don't know whose the car it is. We had to pay £200 to get the car released. My friend called to complain to the manager and he put the phone down on her!!!

I am absolutely disgusted at the treatment we have received and feel very stressed. I want all money refunded, and an explanation as to

WHY IS A COMPANY INSISTING ON CASH ON ARRIVAL - IS THIS A TAX DODGE?

WHY DO YOU CLAMP YOUR OWN GUESTS - IS THIS A SCAM TO MAKE MORE MONEY FROM PAYING GUESTS?

WHY WAS HEALTH AND SAFETY NEGLECTED

WHY HAVE WEPAID £350 FOR A ONE NIGHT STAY IN a B & B.

WHO IS GOING TO COMPENSATE FOR A WEEKEND OF STRESS, AND EXPENSE RATHER THAN RELAXTION AND PLEASURE!!

My sister Fiona Hayes rang on Monday morning at 9am and was advised our treatment was totally unacceptable and someone would call back asap. I called at 1pm and spoke to someone else who advised me the same. I was asked to email complaint to your complaints department. I emailed compaint on Monday and still heard nothing! My sister also rang yesterday and today and has been fobbed off yet again being advised Mr Richard Pipe has been out of the office. WHO IS GOING TO DEAL WITH THIS???????

I am absolutely furious, my sister and I have been treated this way. I will be contacting the Tourist Board, The Local Paper. I will also be putting my comments on Twitter, Facebook, Book.com and of course Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rayray1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Absolutely delighted at the ambiance, décor, friendliness and professionalism of staff. Food has been well presented and delicious. Was especially impressed by the fact the vegetables were all fresh, not frozen and not overcooked. The location too is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We work in the town and seek out different places to eat lunch. This particular venue sticks out as the worst place for food and service. The food is atrocious, the bar staff do not seem to know one end of a glass from another, they never know what is on the menu let alone what price any thing is. Although the staff are friendly enough, they obviously have not been trained in the niceties of running a bar.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ce_fait_rien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This was our first experience of a traditional English hotel and we weren't sure what to expect.. It's a seventeenth century hotel with the quirks and uneven floors that come with that and it is furnished in traditional style but our room was a very good size even for a modern hotel and the bathroom was spotless with excellent shower pressure and plenty of hot water. We received a warm welcome and were helped with our outrageously heavy suitcases (entirely our own fault). There was a flat sceen tv with excellent reception. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and it was clear that the staff were well focused on keeping this old hotel to its best. Check out was friendly and efficient. We'd happily return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
246 reviews
3.5 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
570 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
4.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,861 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms and Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Property: Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Address: 22-25 High Street, Godalming GU7 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms and Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel is a tradional British pub with seating capacity of 50 in the main dining room. Private function room for business meetings and private parties with seating capacity of 50. Outside patio and enclosed beer garden. Families welcome. Free limited parking at the rear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Arms and Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing