We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very Royal, But....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Reviewed 5 June 2012

...actually our room was good value and spotlessly clean. It is an old building, so yes the floors creak a little (but I grew up in a 16th century property, so this didn't phase me at all). If you are looking for a hotel in the area that is middle of the road e.g. not expensive but not as soulless as a Travel Lodge, then give it a go. Best hotel location for Godalming, very central and on the high street. Fine for 1 or 2 nights if you are in town for an event or wedding, but take it for what it is - an average hotel in a very average pub.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious room that overlooked the high street. I'd recommend asking for this, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

My "Superior" room was mediocre as opposed to superior

- Worst nights sleep I have in a hotel this year.
- Noisy.
- Sulky and miserable staff.
- Breakfast fatty, grotty and had to be returned.

Avoid this hotel - stay in one of the other Godalming hotels

Room Tip: Avoid High Street rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HippoToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Having read the other reviews about this hotel, I very nearly cancelled the booking. I stayed last night in room 21 and can honestly say it's one of the best nights sleep I have had away from home. I felt so upset about the reviews, I joined tripadvisor and thought I would let you know about my stay. Dont get me wrong this is no 5 star hotel, but it's not trying to be. I would much rather stay here than any travelodge or budget hotel. I travel down to Guildford a lot and I will be making room 21 my regular stay

Room Tip: I have only stayed in room 21, so I can only comment on that one. Very sound nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Firstly we couldn't park.
Then we couldn't find the receptionist.
Then the beer was horrible (we went out to eat, didn't want to chance it!).
Then the room was either too hot (windows closed) or too noisy (windows open).
Then the bed was uncomfortable.
Then the breakfast was dreadful.

...we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrappaInTheRealWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I had great expectations with this hotel.. but it wasn't really good. It is very old and makes noises when you walk anywhere, even when laying in the bed. The room was small but clean, small bed, the bathroom made a better impression.

Breakfast was the best thing.

I think the comments here are overrated.. at least when i was there, wasn't so great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohcim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked the hotel for an over-night stop over on the basis of their website and the descriptions & pictures of their 'recently renovated' rooms. The room we stayed in had certainly not be renovated; the carpet was filthy, there was mold all over the ceiling in the bathrooms and spider-webs all over the curtains. There was new TV in the room but no remote control. The welcome and service we got was not particularly good either.

The location is good; right on the high-street but they only have 5 parking spaces and about 20 room so best if you travel to Godalming by train. Breakfast was fine alothough under-staffed and they had no menus or other means to indicate what they could preapre.

This could be a lovely boutique hotel if you get one of their new rooms however the staff don't seem to care.

Room Tip: Arrive early and book one of the rennovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucent82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Rude staff, terrible parking, a breakfast so poor my son could have done better (and he is 2!)

Outside of hotel is grim. The owners have not even bothered to repair and repaint areas that have been damaged! The plants on the window ledges are priceless - every single one of them is dead! They look like they were last years and nobody has bothered to replace them!

Room was uninspiring and not very well cleaned. Stay anywhere but here, despite the fantastic location.

Hotel could be so much more if owner the owners bothered a lot more!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller1001review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
264 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms and Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Address: 22-25 High Street, Godalming GU7 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms and Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel is a tradional British pub with seating capacity of 50 in the main dining room. Private function room for business meetings and private parties with seating capacity of 50. Outside patio and enclosed beer garden. Families welcome. Free limited parking at the rear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Arms and Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing