We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed for one night recently - didn't cost a fortune and the staff & owner were delightful. We felt very comfortable staying here! Great value menu all day and hotel packed with history...
We would definately stay here again in a flash so negative reviews don't help businesses in this climate when its not justified!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat68Horley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked a 2 night stay last minute to get out of London for the weekend. It is a cheap hotel so we didn't expect much, the bar shuts before 11pm even for residents of the hotel. the room was dirty and not cleaned during our stay (no new towels, shampoo products, Linen was not changed on the bed) there was dust clearly visible. There was a fault with the toilet making a loud noise whenever it was flushed, the hotels boiler was installed in a cupboard in our room, it clicked on and off all day and night and we question how safe/legal this is. The staff are not friendly at all and the other guests/people in the hotel bar were somewhat undesirable. The room looked nice but it's very noisy, you can hear other guests and noise outside the hotel. Reception is unmanned most of the time. The breakfast is of poor quality. if the service had been better the other points would be less of an issue. We wouldn't return to this hotel or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed one night here in August while attending a wedding nearby. We were quite surprised by how good, but quirky the room was. Fortunately we hadn't had a drink before we booked in as the room was definately on a slant. Having said that it was spacious, bright and clean. Booking in took a little while, we arrived at lunchtime and the pub was busy. Breakfast was good with plenty to eat. The only problem was limited parking but we managed to get the last space in the pub car park. The hotel is centrally located and is in an ideal position to explore Godalming. I would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OspreyFanSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Right from the word go this place was a no no! I requested a cot for our 7 month old and i asked someone if they could get back to me so we knew whether to bring a travel cot. Nobody bothered to get back to me so i rang and spoke to a very abrupt person who told me they had seen the request! So why no phone call????
When we arrived we were very disappointed. A very shabby, tired building and we were greeted by an inflatable Christmas tree! How very tacky! The room itself was quite pleasant but ridiculous hot and was just too noisy to keep the windows open! Nobody offered to help us with our bags which was challenging with a little one. Toilet paper was VERY cheap. After settling in we decided to go downstairs for a bite to eat as it would of been easier for us especially with a baby. We walked into the bar area, i had a look around to see if there was a quiet place to sit. Out of no where a very rude lady shouted over to us "EXCUSE ME, THERE'S NOTHING OVER THERE" I was so taken aback, it was just so unnecessary! She obviously knew she had been rude by the look on our face! We just walked out and she went back to sitting down with her friends in the bar, great customer service! We went next door to a lovely little Italian restaurant which was superb, nothing but accommodating! We went back at 8.30pm and the door was shut to the bar as they had no one! No surprises there! Breakfast was awful too, we shall not be staying here again!! Avoid, avoid, avoid!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ARobert68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I guess it's one of those experiences where you have to stay above a pub, at least once in your life. I was half expecting an attic room lined with hay but alas I was disappointed to find a mediocre and drably-decorated room the size of a college dorm (a single). The shower bathroom (which was clean and mildew-free) was actually bigger than the main room. The twin bed was pretty soft and there was no alarm clock. Despite that, the room was pretty comfortable; at least until 5am when there was an unadvertised gameshow in the hallway, most likely called "Who can slam their doors louder?"
The pub had some good beers, decent food, and lively characters. Be sure to try the complimentary "English Breakfast". The staff was friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzazikimchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hotel is centrally located which is good in one respect but if you are in one of the front bedrooms expect a lot of noise especially at night as it is surrounded by quite a few bars.

The room we had was big but the furnishings had seen much better days. The double bed was so hard and lumpy and I woke with terrible backache each morning. the bathroom was massive and new. It seemed strange that they concentrated on renovating the bathroom rather than the actual bedroom.

The pub area was as other reviewers say were pretty bad. It is a shame as it is a lovely building in a prime spot.

The staff we found were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was standard full english but unfortunatly swimming in fat.

We wouldnt stay here again as we found it overpriced for what you got for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roslin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Had to book the hotel as others nearby were fully booked. I would agree with other reviewers that it is a disappointment - the public areas were dreadful, the Wi-fi was rubbish and the staff practically non-existent. The bar/pub had a builder/local atmosphere to it and the restaurant - despite having a variety of food on the menu - served up disappointing food.
With all the negatives out of the way I still felt okay. My room was spacious and warm, clean and comfortable. My 4 night stay went fine. It is a good enough hotel for tradesmen to stay over but not families or business.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horli34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
264 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
313 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms and Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Address: 22-25 High Street, Godalming GU7 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: £61 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms and Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel is a tradional British pub with seating capacity of 50 in the main dining room. Private function room for business meetings and private parties with seating capacity of 50. Outside patio and enclosed beer garden. Families welcome. Free limited parking at the rear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kings Arms and Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing