We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burnt out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Reviewed 23 August 2010

“A nice hotel, shame about the punters” we overheard the owner complaining. Bar and cleaning staff were similarly discredited. The hotel appears to accommodate management, rather than customer needs- large clean and comfortable rooms, a large empty bar and restaurant, emitting feelings of hopelessness. Nobody was on reception when we arrived, parking was erratic, breakfast and checkout were very early. Food was adequate – should the English dare complain?! One problem, beyond management control, was loud noise from outside. On both Friday and Saturday, we heard lots of drunks shouting, swearing, fighting and smashing bottles plus car racing well into the night. Hardly the charming high street pub.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXX007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

Unfortunately for me, this hotel did not live up to the previous reviews.

Upon arrival, having travelled to the Kings Arms from Manchester, I was told that I didn’t have a reservation even though I had with me my confirmation for the booking which had been only 24 hrs previously. It soon became apparent, after I’d been told that the hotel was fully booked that night, that I had been mistakenly booked in to stay the previous night.

After expressing my disappointment with the lack of empathy I was receiving – I got the “we’re fully booked so there is nothing we can do” attitude, it was suggested that I be booked into an alternative hotel in the area.

The receptionist went away to consult the manager, who was no where to be seen, and came back to tell me that they had a room! A late check out was the savour of all problems, however it was now 7.15pm so how late was the check out?? I was told the room would be ready in 20 minutes so I agreed to disappear for half an hour and then return to the hotel at 7.45pm.

When I returned there was a gentleman at reception experiencing the initial problems I first had. – “Sorry Sir, we don’t have your reservation, but we can find you alternative accommodation.’

Perhaps if I hadn’t of been so adamant with my booking this gentleman would have had the ‘late check out’ room. Knowing what I know, saw and experienced I think he’d of be very glad he didn’t stay especially if he sees the pictures!

So, I arrive in my room, which I am told is spotless! The smell of bleach and air freshener doesn’t fool me and yes, the room was far from spotless, the room was filthy. Ever surface was covered in dust, and the view from my room looked out on what one can only describe as a junk yard!

As you can imagine I didn’t have the best nights sleep, I was too concerned that I’d awake to find myself in the arms of a giant spider who had trapped me in it’s web (see the cobweb picture and you’ll understand).

It’s a shame. I had high hopes of having a really nice stay here but the shambolic attitude of the staff and the dusty room overlooking Steptoe’s wasn’t worth a penny, let alone the £57 I had to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Kings Arms last Friday and found it to be a very nice surprise. We were not expecting much but had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed it a lot more than expected.

We chose the hotel due to its location on the centre of the high street with the understanding that it would be convenient but would probably have some noise. We did not have any other expectations but actually found the hotel to be extremely pleasant from the moment we arrived. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we found the quality of the hotel and rooms to be very high. Overnight we found the room to be very comfortable and did not experience any of the noise that we were expecting, despite our room overlooking the high street, and then had a good breakfast before leaving in the morning.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kings Arms and would have no hesitation at all in recommending it to others or in staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I recently stayed for one night with my mother. We were greeted warmly by reception who quickly booked us in and we then proceeded to our room. Room was spacious and nicely decorated with added bonus of both a shower and separate bath. Did not eat in the evening but returned to the hotel after a meal in Godalming to friendly bar staff. Breakfast was excellant and would not hesiate to stay again. Staff was all extremly helpful and friendly without being over bearing, would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphyStNeots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

I stayed in this hotel twice once in August and once in September. Both rooms I stayed in where nicely furnished with TFT scrren and a great shower with excellent pressure. The breakfast was fine too, although they do not serve omlettes or green tea, however they do make eggs, sausages, mushrooms etc so that was fine for me.
I also dined at the restaurnat in the evening and the food is absolutely delicious both the pasta marinara (special of the day) and the desert where absolutely marvellous and the hotel staff were really helpful and had great customer care skills.
The only problem the hotel has is that it has no lift so I had to carry my luggage up the stairs on my first trip. However on my second trip I asked the hotel staff to help me and they were really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Our Superior double room was very spacious, clean and well decorated while the breakfast very good indeed with quality ingredients. One minor problem was that the telly kept losing its signal but had we bothered to inform reception, I'm sure it would have been sorted by the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archaeocritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I stayed @ the Kings Arms for 2 nights on a business trip last week. Godalming is such a pretty place and the Kings Arms was a lovely plce to stay over. The hotel is right in the town centre and the room was smallish but clean and nicely furnished & equipped. The breakfast was fine and the manager Kirsty was very helpful. The building itself is full of character; I loved the uneven floors - made me feel that the place had some history to it.. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthSale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
0.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
3.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#5 of 11 in Guildford
778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#3 of 11 in Guildford
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms and Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Address: 22-25 High Street, Godalming GU7 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Godalming
Price Range: £54 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms and Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel is a tradional British pub with seating capacity of 50 in the main dining room. Private function room for business meetings and private parties with seating capacity of 50. Outside patio and enclosed beer garden. Families welcome. Free limited parking at the rear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Arms and Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms And Royal Hotel Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing