We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here time and time again”

Winkworth Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Godalming
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A tranquil hillside arboretum created by Dr Wilfred Fox in the early twentieth century, now cared for by the National Trust. Open 363 days a year with stunning botanical displays all year round.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We go here time and time again”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

These NT gardens are down the road from where we live and as we are NT members we get in free but they are worth visiting in different seasons. There are some gorgeous views that are a bit of a climb but do worth it. I love the boathouse but watch out for the bees in summer that have made it their home. Spring/summer is definitely the time to go with such lush rich colours in the various bushes and blossom trees. I would highly recommend it. The only disappointment is the dismal tea room which needs a revamp of some sort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank peacemakerukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    156
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sensory overload”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We certainly chose the right time to visit Winkworth. A beautiful warm sunny spring day. The bluebells and azaleas were in bloom and the perfume was incredible and the vistas stunning. Colour every where and sweet perfume from the yellow azaleas hanging in the air and we were seranaded by birdsong. Looking forward to returning in the autumn

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Bluebell Haze of Colour - with a handy tip”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was my first time at Winkworth Arboretum. A few logistic points followed by a tip of where to see the best bluebell spread. The journey took about 1 hour from central London - thank goodness for the satnav. Highlights were the bluebells - see my tip below and the azaleas as well. This NT property is not a mega organisation - so its a simple car park, a nice tea room and a ticket office with route maps of the arboretum with 3 routes. I chose the Red route - the most challenging route. The arboretum is on a steep side of a valley leading down to a lake. This gives great views from the lake/ meadow up towards the slopes which in autumn must be spectacular. The red route is 3.6K and took me about 2 hours of gentle strolling. The path was easy (if a touch narrow in parts - 1.5 feet) but as it was dry it was easy. I suspect a muddy path would be less fun. There are a few flat-ish areas as well - the meadow by the lake which has a picturesque boat house at one end and an area called the Badgers Bowl which has a gorgeous view from a treetop viewing platform down towards the bowl and then beyond to the other side of the valley. The tip I have re the bluebells is in the area called Bluebell Wood - forge ahead using the map and look for the path marked private. This looks like a dried up brook area which is happily undisturbed because of the private nature of this part and looks gorgeous. There is also the Azalea Steps - which is a set of steps with a riot of colours from Azaleas on both sides. Looking forward to the autumn colours. There were plenty of benches set in good viewing spots - smart.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewH-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bluebells galore”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

beautiful walks, beautiful swathes of bluebells, beautiful views, be prepared to walk uphill and down. And finish off at the tearoom for tea and scones.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monday 5tyh May Bank holiday weekend”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

5/05
We arrived this morning at 09.30. The gate to the car park was closed and locked. On the car park were some six parked cars, clearly from staff and/or volunteers. We waited for a while and more cars drove up, waiting before the gate and spilling over on the road. In the end, about 10.05, some nineteen cars were queuing up. My wife went to the box office around 09.50 and asked the assembled staff there to kindly open the gate. She was told that the arboretum would open at 10 at the official opening time. My wife then suggested to let the cars park in the meantime because the file of cars was obstructing the road and it was not safe for the passengers to get out of the cars while waiting. The male staff member said bluntly that the rule was that the garden would open at 10, and that for 'heath and safety reasons' they could not open earlier. When my wife again suggested to let the cars in on the car park because of safety issues on the road, the staff member concerned said brusquely that that was a matter that did not concern him. All in all not a very helpful attitude !
We love the arboretum and in fact the NT and were very upset by the attitude displayed by the staff member concerned. This time of the year a walk through the arboretum is a stunning experience.
Michael & Helen Noorduyn
Heath Cottage,
Hambledon, Surrey GU8 4HG

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 841Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winkworth Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Winkworth Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing