We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore
Ranked #16 of 18 Godalming B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Nice staff and great pub but since the takeover has been badly managed. Made to wait over an hour outside for a taxi as a private party was on and confronted by the head barman when a party guest bought me a drink. I recommend the Good Intent of Cider house or Inn on the lake if accommodation is needed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Localboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    14
    18
    13
See reviews for
16
21
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

The Squirrel is in a convenient location and looks great from the outside, where there is attractive and comforatable garden furniture. The staff are friendly, too, and the wine list is better than at many pub restaurants.
The problems start as soon as you enter the dining area, which looks like the cramped, basic dining area of a 1950's business travellers' hotel. But the real disappointment comes with the food itself. At £23 for a steak, one expects something better than an ordinary 9oz rump with oven-chips. The 'marinaded poissin' is actually just chicken coated with marinade sauce, and the fresh Dover Sole appears to be fresh from a deep freeze.
It's not that the food is bad. Just unimpressive pub food at quality restaurant prices. Disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSumnerSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Godalming hotels

Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Had a one night stay here with colleagues. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was of a high standard and the room was comfortable for a one night stay. Recommend this for a short trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

The place looks good and was pretty busy. First problem was my wife's gravelax. It was so salty it was inedible and we sent it back. The replacement squid was anemic. The scallops I had were really good. We both had fish (sea bream and sea trout) both dishes were really salty. Didn't finish them. Told the waitress who said she would tell chef which didn't really help us. We should have sent both dishes back but having sent one starter back didn't . kicking myself this morning. The chef really needs to rein back on the salt. He couldn't have tasted anything that turned up at our table that's for sure. Won't be returning

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valewood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

On a recommendation we tried the pub/restaurant for Sunday lunch. We were extremely disappointed. The service was very slow - the waitress, although she was trying her best, was obviously over worked and stressed (not enough staff). We ordered the roasts from the Specials menu. The pork was off. So we had the beef. I would be very surprised if the slices of beef had been freshly carved from a newly roasted joint - I strongly suspect this was boil in the bag stuff. The accompanying stuffing (which was supposed to go with the pork - not the beef) was a cold, as were the roasted parsnips which were also hard and undercooked. The gravy (already poured - not in a separate boat) was extremely salty and "manufactured". We overheard that the "pork" was back on. Perhaps they had fixed the microwave. All in all very disappointed, overpriced (for what it was) and would not recommend.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LindilouSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

the squirrel inn was a very warm and welcoming place, would have to say one of the nicest places we have stayed in for a very long time, the staff were very friendly and very helpfull, we would have no hesitation in recommending this place to our friends, and the breakfast wow was very well presented and even people with large appetites would find this hard to get through, so well done brian and co keep up the good work , see u in feb when you will have to put up wth us for 2 nights
tracy and kev from lancing

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krazylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The squirrel pub has just re-opened as from 17th July 2009 with new owners, all the local were so pleased that after it closed in November 2008 we finally have our "local" back. But what a disappointment, gone is the cosy and relaxed feel of the old pub, and it has now become another bland trendy type pub. The food, which was always so excellent in the past was very disappointing. The burgers that we had were raw, not under cooked, but raw, so was the chicken, and the fish cakes were dry and tasteless. The only positive thing that I can say is that the service was good. As we loved the old pub so much, we will give it another try, and hope that it is just teething problems, and it will improve - let hope so, as we do need a decent pub in the area that serves good reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Godalming
1.6 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
3.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
5.2 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore

Property: Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore
Address: Hurtmore Road | Hurtmore, Godalming, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Hurtmore, nr Godalming and Guildford, with easy access, situated just off the A3, we pride ourselves on locally sourced food and a constantly rotating selection of real ales from across the country. In the summer our extensive, child friendly garden and outside dining areas comes into thier own...a perfect setting for a family gathering or a quiet peruse of the papers. With a great variety of food on offer, including daily specials, there is something for all tastes and appetites.Food is served between 12 and 9.30pm daily (8pm on Sundays) .Accommodation is also available within beautifully refurbished 16th Century Cottages, which consists of 5 double and 3 single rooms. All rooms come equipped with flat screen TV’s, DVD players and tea/coffee making facilities and are ideal for those on business, leisure weekends or just visiting family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Hotel Godalming
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing