We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, welcoming stay food and service was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore
Ranked #11 of 17 Godalming B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Had a one night stay here with colleagues. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was of a high standard and the room was comfortable for a one night stay. Recommend this for a short trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

The place looks good and was pretty busy. First problem was my wife's gravelax. It was so salty it was inedible and we sent it back. The replacement squid was anemic. The scallops I had were really good. We both had fish (sea bream and sea trout) both dishes were really salty. Didn't finish them. Told the waitress who said she would tell chef which didn't really help us. We should have sent both dishes back but having sent one starter back didn't . kicking myself this morning. The chef really needs to rein back on the salt. He couldn't have tasted anything that turned up at our table that's for sure. Won't be returning

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valewood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

On a recommendation we tried the pub/restaurant for Sunday lunch. We were extremely disappointed. The service was very slow - the waitress, although she was trying her best, was obviously over worked and stressed (not enough staff). We ordered the roasts from the Specials menu. The pork was off. So we had the beef. I would be very surprised if the slices of beef had been freshly carved from a newly roasted joint - I strongly suspect this was boil in the bag stuff. The accompanying stuffing (which was supposed to go with the pork - not the beef) was a cold, as were the roasted parsnips which were also hard and undercooked. The gravy (already poured - not in a separate boat) was extremely salty and "manufactured". We overheard that the "pork" was back on. Perhaps they had fixed the microwave. All in all very disappointed, overpriced (for what it was) and would not recommend.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank LindilouSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Owner at Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Under new ownership and management since the 2nd December 2011.
I have looked at all the reviews about The Squirrel and will do what is needed to improve what we do.
Thanks for your reviews

Paul and Gwyneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

the squirrel inn was a very warm and welcoming place, would have to say one of the nicest places we have stayed in for a very long time, the staff were very friendly and very helpfull, we would have no hesitation in recommending this place to our friends, and the breakfast wow was very well presented and even people with large appetites would find this hard to get through, so well done brian and co keep up the good work , see u in feb when you will have to put up wth us for 2 nights
tracy and kev from lancing

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The squirrel pub has just re-opened as from 17th July 2009 with new owners, all the local were so pleased that after it closed in November 2008 we finally have our "local" back. But what a disappointment, gone is the cosy and relaxed feel of the old pub, and it has now become another bland trendy type pub. The food, which was always so excellent in the past was very disappointing. The burgers that we had were raw, not under cooked, but raw, so was the chicken, and the fish cakes were dry and tasteless. The only positive thing that I can say is that the service was good. As we loved the old pub so much, we will give it another try, and hope that it is just teething problems, and it will improve - let hope so, as we do need a decent pub in the area that serves good reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

I have stayed at The Squirrel twice over the last few years. I sometimes need to visit a company based in Godalming and even though they recommend some hotels in Guilford I choose to stay here. The Squirrel has such character throughout it’s bar, restaurant and accommodation. I have stayed within one of the cottage rooms on both visits, the latest in room 3. They have done a great job of making the rooms feel homely and like you are a guest in a friends cottage not paid accommodation.

The staff are all very helpful & friendly, helped me out with arranging a taxi etc. Even the taxi driver were singing the praises of the pub & landlords. It feels like a real community pub where the locals come and catch up on everyone’s news.

The breakfast was a treat. Breakfast like your Gran would make you and with really high quality products that I imagine are locally sourced (although I don’t know this for sure). The owner is keen to make sure that you have everything you need and makes time to chat with you.

There’s a lovely terrace area if the evening is warm enough to sit out and it’s sheltered so you can sit out even if it’s raining.

I will definitely be returning to The Squirrel again and would recommend it to my friends; or colleagues who don’t fancy another stay in a sterile hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

The evening meal was diappointing. All of our party felt over charged for poor food. Service was friendly. Some of the starters were simply not edible, we even asked if they had forgotten to cook one of them, thinking a mistake had been made. The soup was tasteless, fish over cooked and vegetables just ordinary. If only the food had matched the descriptions. We all felt we could eat better at home. The exception was the assiette of deserts, which we assumed was all bought in and so therefore of a better standard than the rest of the meal.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank foodlover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Godalming hotels
1.9 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
1 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Dunsfold
Bed and Breakfast Dunsfold
#5 of 17 in Godalming
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 6 in Chiddingfold
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore

Address: Hurtmore Road | Hurtmore, Godalming, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Godalming
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under owner management, we have made lots of great changes including offering a breakfast menu, deep cleaned all of the rooms and pub/restaurant made staff changes and spent a lot of time and effort in the gardens and grounds. We are situated in the village of Hurtmore, nr Godalming and Guildford, with easy access, situated just off the A3, we pride ourselves on locally sourced food and a constantly rotating selection of real ales from across the country. In the summer our extensive, child friendly garden and outside dining areas comes into thier own...a perfect setting for a family gathering or a quiet peruse of the papers. With a great variety of food on offer, including daily specials, there is something for all tastes and appetites.Food is served between 12 and 9.30pm daily (8pm on Sundays) .Accommodation is also available within beautifully refurbished 16th Century Cottages, which consists of 5 double and 3 single rooms. All rooms come equipped with flat screen TV’s, DVD players and tea/coffee making facilities and are ideal for those on business, leisure weekends or just visiting family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Squirrel Inn at Hurtmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Hotel Godalming
Squirrel Inn At Hurtmore Godalming, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing