We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find! Very relaxing stay and great food.”
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Happened on the Swan while exploring Sussex. Very friendly pub with lively local bar, good beer and excellent food. Made very welcome and shown cosy room in converted stable block. Great breakfast and all at a reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We made a reservation for dinner in the bar. Having eaten several times in the restaurant and had experienced only excellent food and service we were not expecting such a disappointing meal experience. When the server arrived to take our order she did mention they were out of stock of a lot of food and drink and that they were expecting their delivery the next day. Not a good start as they were even out of some soft drinks. My friend asked if it was possible to have plain boiled rice instead of buttered rice with the Thai Green Curry and she was told NO. How difficult is it to cook boiled rice which suggests to me the buttered rice was all cooked in advance and then heated up. The home made burger was good, however it was served on half an English muffin, quite odd and although the Plaice was quite nice it looked as if it had drowned in the butter it was served in, there was so much of it. I ordered a gammon ham salad. It consisted of two VERY thin slices of ham and a mountain of hairy lettuce, which had a couple of thin (so thin) it was transparent cucumber and tomato pieces placed sporadically and very sparingly of top of it. Mixed lettuce I enjoy, a plate of just hairy lettuce is inedible. Once the main meals were served we couldn't find a waitress and there was only one chap behind the bar who was busy, when we eventually found a waitress our vegetables served. We had to keep requesting mustard etc before it arrived. After we had finished our main courses the waitress who took our order (not in uniform and looked like the Manager) asked us if we enjoyed our meals. I was honest with her and let her know how disappointing it was, and her response was Oh! That was it just Oh! Having had a poor meal we decided to go else where for desert. It was only a few days later when talking to other friends about our very disappointing meal that we were informed that the Swan Inn was under new Management and this was the first time we had been there since the new Management/Owners had taken over. I do hope the new Management/Owners make some improvements as they will loose many customers. We felt the food and service was very poor and we will not be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatholsAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A great little hotel with a long history of good food and service i will go in again if i am passing again. It is a bit out of the way but its worth it when you find it with good food and with rooms.the bar has an open fire as well with a small restsarant

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Tried it for the first time since the previous management/owners, and it was a delight !
Very good food, very friendly staff and the welcoming pub atmosphere in the bar !
Will most definitely be back soon....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have been regular visitors over the past ten years and have seen a number of changes of ownership.
It is good to see the property re-open after the last owners went out of business.However while appreciating the need for the new owners to get settled, a few months on there are still some issues in the restaurant.Service is not always that good (diners are often left far too long before orders taken or between courses) and the quality of the food is not consistent (varies from excellent to very poor).Some pricing seems a little excessive - £10.50 for a starter of three scallops and a little black pudding and bacon.(We especially miss the superb 'trice cooked chips' - now sadly replaced by fairly bland ones).
The pub seems to be as busy as ever however the restaurant seems to have nothing like the number of diners it used to have.
We are happy to have a drink in the bar and perhaps something to eat in the superb pub garden however we no longer go to eat in the restaurant 3/4 times a month.Perhaps we'll try again in a few months..... (ever hopeful!).

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Went to the Swan Inn for the bank holiday weekend to get out of London with some friends. As soon as we stepped in through the front door, the helpful and friendly staff catered to all our needs. We headed straight out the amazing beer garden, where we sat for the rest of the day. It's hard to believe such a peaceful and idyllic place is just an hour outside London.

The pub itself is steeped in history and boasts famous names such as Edward Elgar and Hubert Parry as previous guests.

The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced - the Sunday roast was nicest I've had in a long time. The accommodation was extremely clean and had the added bonus of wifi.

Fittleworth itself is a great base for exploring the local area - olde world English villages such as Arundel, Chiddingfold and Petworth are a short drive away.

We'll definitely be visiting the Swan Inn again. ,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shunter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked this pub last minute with the friendly, helpful owner over the phone, and when we arrived a little over an hour later, were really pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome from all the staff in the lovely bar. Once we had been shown to the cosy, really lovely, converted barn room, we enjoyed a fabulous roast lunch in the garden. The peaceful location, with a lovely river walk from the doorstep, made this stay even more enjoyable. Excellent value for money and would not hesitate to recommend this pub.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the converted barn rooms, which have their own separate entrance from the passag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fittleworth
2.3 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
150 reviews
4.8 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
344 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks
7.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
748 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Price Range: £71 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Fittleworth
Swan Hotel Fittleworth
The Swan Inn Fittleworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing