We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect meal”
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was a little while ago but I have been intending to review this ever since we ate there.

The welcome was very friendly and the bar is extremely comfortable. It has been smartened up a lot since we lived in the village and overall I think a great improvement. Really enjoyed the food and I hope that it is a great success under these owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Swan for two nights between Christmas and New Year visiting relatives who live locally. We were given a fairly small but clean and comfortable en-suite room in a converted barn a few yards behind the pub. After an excellent nights' sleep we were treated to a superb freshly-cooked breakfast. Staff were very friendly and the pub has good beer (did not try the lunch or evening menu.) All in all this represented excellent value for money.

Fittleworth is a pretty Sussex village in the South Downs National Park. There is plenty to see and do locally. This would make a great location for a long weekend. Be warned - they do get booked up when there are events on at nearby Goodwood.

Room Tip: I haven't syated in the main building for years, only the rooms in the converetd barn. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rovin_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with friends for a Christmas get together. The staff did a wonderful job looking after us, especially as they had storms, floods, and a powercut to contend with. When we arrived the pub was lit by candles, but that added to the cosy atmosphere. Owing to the lack of power hot meals couldn't be provided so somebody went to the next village over to get us takeaways. There were on the house and were very much appreciated! The room we stayed in was lovely. Clean, with a heater that worked - the power had returned by the small hours, or at least the generator kicked in. Everything we needed was there. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. If we ever need a place to stay in that neck of the woods i will definitely return! We had an excellent night, which, given the circumstances, could have turned into a nightmare. Thank you all so much. We hope the storms didn't cause you any further disruption. All the best.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank xxTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed the night in the Swan inbetween visiting relatives. The pub is set in the middle of a tiny charming village, is around 600 years old and full of history, the Landlord told us Elgar had stayed there. The rooms have recently been refurbished and we were lucky to stay in "Goodwood" a beautiful room with a four poster bed, the only critism being the bed was on the small side. Dinner in the evening was good, I chose sea bass baked in salt which was delicious. Breakfast was average, a choice of cereal and bulk standard cooked breakfast - would have liked some fruit, but wasn't a problem as we were meeting our releatives for lunch.

Room Tip: Goodwood Room is a good size with a small but cosy four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had a lunch as part of a group of neighbours. The place was very quiet, only our party and one other table was occupied.
The food was OK, typical pub grub, nothing to write home about, but OK. Service was good and staff very obliging.
I imagine parking could be tight if it got busy.
Price was average.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We live fairly close by and had a nice meal this week - although I found it on the more pricey side for pub food. Under new ownership in the last 6 months and the atmosphere is much better in the main bar where the staff are very friendly. Friendly waitresses in the restaurant area too - but I agree with a previous reviewer - the service needs to "up the tempo" a bit in line with its pricing. We could have done with being checked in with more often to see if everything was OK, drink orders etc. Good food though and very well presented. The pub itself is lovely - great decor, very clean and retains lots of old features. Big pub garden to the rear - go through the archway to the right of the main door, through the courtyard and up the steps.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireG003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a wonderful experience at this quaint, 16th century hotel. Touring south England on a holiday from Australia and this hotel has been the most enjoyable accommodation so far. Room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with modern furnishings and soft white bedding. Great mix of historical and new. Dinner and breakfast at the restaurant - absolutely delicious! The owners were friendly and eager to please. Given the opportunity, would love to come back! Highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abacus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fittleworth
2.3 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
146 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks
7.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fittleworth
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Fittleworth
Swan Hotel Fittleworth
The Swan Inn Fittleworth, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing