We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Cottage B&B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Fittleworth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Swan Inn(Fittleworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chequers Hotel(Pulborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundabout Hotel(West Chiltington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
27
14
1
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
14
1
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housecooked breakfastsome tlcswinging chairsunderfloor heating in the bathroombed was comfortabletreehouseplatform
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in the tree-house last week having 'inherited' a night's stay that could not be used by a relative. My wife was apprehensive of damp and spiders, but the heating was on and the room was pleasantly cosy.
The English weather did it's best to offset the African theme of the room, and we wished it had been more summery to enjoy the hanging chairs on the veranda! Nonetheless, other than the odd conker dropping or squirrel on the roof, there was little to disturb the peace and tranquility.The bed nested between the trunks of the tree was very inviting and comfortable.
We ate at a local pub we had stayed at previously and retired promptly on our return, so did not suffer unduly from the TV reception problems mentioned in other reviews. Breakfast the next morning in the Conservatory was first-class, and our hosts were attentive without being intrusive. Overall a very pleasant break and a change from the normal B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic night's stay in the Treehouse to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. The hard work Ron and Alison have put into their B&B really comes across - we were amazed to hear that Ron built everything himself and Alison made it all come to life with all the finishing touches. The Treehouse had an African feel with lots of quirky little features but had all we needed. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was beautifully done. Yes, there was the odd cobweb and one of the teaspoons was dirty but it really didn't matter. It was the perfect place to escape to for some peace and quiet! We especially liked the setting and the feeling of being all alone in a forest!

We had our evening meal at Meghdoots Indian Restaurant in Petworth and could not recommend it enough...fabulous food and excellent service. I'm dying to go back!

Breakfast at Castle Cottage was very good - melon and freshly squeezed orange juice followed by a full English with a good range of cereals to choose from too. Ron was able to cater to my request for herbal tea instead of 'normal' tea or coffee.

The surrounding area was beautiful and I'm very keen to go back and explore for a longer period. I would definitely stay at Castle Cottage again - either in the Treehouse or one of the other two rooms. All in all a peaceful and quirky experience. It wasn't easy to come back to the buzz of Brixton!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bex876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room one sunny weekend in May but it would have been great whatever the weather as it had heating and a sense of warmth & cosiness. It was really lovely. It was clean, modern and rustic at the same time. It had all mod cons and a small walled terrace outside the double doors at the rear of the bedroom. There were velux windows above the enormous bed,in the bathroom and the lounge area and it was so peaceful, such an antidote to living in the suburbs. I am known in my family to be ultra fussy when staying anywhere but I felt really relaxed in this rural retreat. It felt as if you were in the middle of nowhere, which you sort of are but within a 20 minute drive of Chichester with a fine theatre, restaurants and historic buildings.
Ron and Alison were on hand if you wanted any help or advice but discreet enough to let you just 'get on with it'. Breakfast was great and the 'communal table ' meant you got to talk to other guests...if you got up in time!! We have booked the Treehouse for next year and look forward to returning as there is still so much for us to do and see in the area. Try it and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the treehouse during what has to be the wettest weekend in a year. It rained pretty much non-stop all weekend, but this didn't stop us enjoying the charm and unique character of the place.

The hosts are extremely friendly, give great advice on where to eat out and the breakfast is excellent.

I have to say that I think that some of the reviews of Castle Cottage are very unfair. If you're looking for a standard of cleaning and decor that you find in a 5 star hotel then my advice would be to go to a 5 star hotel. If, like us, you enjoy the different experience that an independently run B&B offers, then we'd thoroughly recommend Castle Cottage as a place to visit. If you like the idea of sitting out on a balcony of a treehouse in a hanging chair, watching a woodpecker 20ft away, surrounded by stunning trees then this is a place to visit. If you can put up with the odd cobweb here and there, and you like meeting interesting people, then we'd recommend it.

So, if you're the type that likes to find things to pick holes in, then our advice would be to stay away from Castle Cottage. However, if you like to try something different, and you have a little sense of adventure, then give this place a try, and enjoy something out of the ordinary!

Room Tip: Treehouse is a totally unique experience!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coasttripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I never thought I'd write a review of anywhere we'd stayed but our experience of the Barn has forced me to. We booked two nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary but were so disappointed we left without even staying for one! The photos make it look fresh and airy but it's extremely tired and far from the romantic retreat we had hoped for. There was clutter all over the place and it looked like a dumping ground for the owners' old magazines, clothes, photos, shell collection and suitcases which they hadn't got round to actually throwing out! There was mould growing on the outside of the glass roof, cobwebs in the bathroom, ripped newspaper lining the drawers, and the waste paper bin hadn't been emptied. To top it all, the owner told us that these were all 'minor' complaints and that most people loved it there! We usually look at Trip Advisor reviews before we book somewhere but didn't this time. If we had read the previous reviews we would never have booked, and I wish we hadn't. I'm only glad it was our wedding anniversary that was ruined, not our wedding night as previous reviews have said!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews