We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic booze and snooze break”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a really a great place to stay and this offer was well worth the money with £40 off the evening meal and a free bottle of wine and a later check out. The bedroom was really good with tea/coffee facilities and lovely soft white towels. The food was well presented and all the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you .We have booked again to stay over Christmas -special thanks to Tom in the restaurant, Alex and Sonia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiev246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Our Booze and Snooze package has been hugely popular this year and we plan to introduce more packages in the near future, possibly golf breaks and Shooting breaks too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ordered a pint and a half of San Miguel which came in a Bulmers glass that was scratched it tasted poor as well, we paid £5.40 for this round.
Went to order another pint and a half, this time in San Miguel glass told it was £6.10
What a rip of to charge 2 different prices within an hour
Won't be going again at those prices and having to wait ages 1 staff member serving 8 customers at bar
Very poor

Stayed: October 2013
Thank antmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We have a new state of the art till system just installed here, im sure like anything its not perfect, but we will look into the issue you had and resolve it as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After reading several mixed reviews about the Huntsman, i decided to book a Dine & Duvet Night and give it a go. I'm so glad i did, Early check in at 1pm was great the reception staff were friendly and helpful and made both my wife and myself so welcome, The room was great very large an spacious and had an amazing view...We decided to have a bite to eat in the bar, the food was great and for a bar snack plenty of it..The selection of real ale is good to. As we had booked the Dine and Duvet we booked a table in the restaurant for 8pm. the menu had a great choice and the staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. as for the food what can i say.. other than amazing and plenty of it,,, i was struggling to finish my desert.. Late checkout the following day is a must as you don't feel rushed, Breakfast in bed came prompt at 10 am as ordered and again plenty of it. All I i can Say is the Huntsman is a great Inn, with great staff and amazing food. and Lovely rooms to relax in. We will be recommending it to friends and family, and are already planing a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 is The Honeymoon Suit which i booked which i will be booking again, its spacious and great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks for your review, its been really popular, come and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here 2 nights, as we had booked to go to Holmfirth Vineyard. The hotel is out of Holmfirth town, which we liked. Room, lovely decor, clean well equiped - tea/coffee etc. great views. Very friendly staff & restaurant & food very good. We stayed on the booze & snooze, very good value with a bottle of wine with dinner. The hotel is close to many lovely walks. We walked back from the vineyard (another good visit) approx 3miles which took us around the nearby reseviour. Will book again sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theicer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, your right the location is stunning and really worth a visit, we try to look after our guests like they are in our own home, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Arrived on 20 September after a night out in Holmfirth for my partner's birthday.

Room was lovely and very clean but can't really comment on anything else.

Staff only had to explain check in and out procedures and tell us when food was served, and they did just that...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went today for Sunday lunch, with family. Booked for 2pm Was told on arrival 40min delay, due to a wedding and a large party booked in. We had a drink and people having starters arrived within 20mins, we thought good must be catching up. Oh no. 15.30 finally got our main courses !!. Only 1 hour longer nearly than what they said. Some meals were good, Beef was as tough as old boots, needs to improve for me to go again or recommend to a friend. Should hire more staff at busy times

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Faz152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My family and I visited the huntsman and 3 of us chose to have the fish. When we got home all 3 of us were violently sick. As a mother of a new baby this was a massive inconvenience. I emailed the huntsman expecting an apology but they couldn't even be bothered to email back! Reading previous reviews on here it seems the manager only responds to positive reviews which is terrible customer service anyway. The service was awful, served by staff who couldn't even force a smile. We was asked if we would like sauces and before we could all answer the waiter had already walked off. When he returned he plonked them on the table and walked off again before we even had time to ask for more sauces. There was not enough cultery brought to the table. We were still sat at the table finishing our drinks when they brought over clean cultery ready for the next customers! No wonder people are getting ill. The food was terrible and the service appalling. I definitely won't be returning!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Natsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam T, General Manager at The Huntsman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We have emailed you back several times with no response, this does lead us to think its not a genuine complaint

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
876 reviews
1.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
591 reviews
5.9 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Huntsman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
The Huntsman Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing