We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Well priced, good restaurant and bar, comfortable rooms. This is a great place to stay if your are on business or just on a short break.
We have stayed on several occasions and never been disappointed. The scenery is also worth a mention....beautifully wild and very accessible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    100
    28
    26
    35
See reviews for
109
241
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stopped at the Huntsman at Holmfirth for a Sunday bite to eat very busy due to it being mothers day good atmosphere most tables booked so ordered a deink at the bar before we had even finished our drink the manager had found us a table even though he was very busy service was not to long to wait and the waiting staff were lovely the food was hot and we were not rushed in any way very pleasant surroundings and oldie charm will visit again next time we are in the area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank another3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went to the huntsman today with my grandparents and parents, wish I had stayed at home and cooked! We arrived just before 3pm, fairly busy but was seated quickly. Ordered drinks, they eventually arrived and the order was wrong, one drink missing and one wrong which they said they wouldn't charge for. My grandma didn't really want to drink a pint so I asked for a half glass. We ordered the food, no salmon by that time so obviously under ordered. My grandad can't chew very well and there was a limited option to what he could have instead. Starters were ok. Ordered more drinks, took about 20 mins to arrive. When our mains arrived we asked for mint sauce with the lamb, after 3 times of asking and 10 minutes into the meal it arrived. One meal was gnocchi, the portion size was fit for a 3 year old and not as described in the menu. It was a bowl of stewed onions. We didn't have dessert because I refused to pay any more money for food that was quite frankly no where near up to standard. Even the steak and ale pie pastry was burnt and the vegetables with the chicken strips were like black dust they had been that chargrilled. Even the bill seemed an effort, again 2 attempts to get it. Very inexperienced staff and lacking in any service skills. All in all I would not recommend or go back here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodcritique23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have been staying here on business since before the refurb, yeah the rooms are great, but since the refurb something has gone very wrong!
The quality of both service and food has really deteriorated, resulting in me being booked in recently for the wrong nights, meaning I had to drive back home, after driving over 110 miles to get there!
No apologies, nothing, not even a reply to my email.
It's a shame when a good value for money hotel like the Huntsman goes down hill.
I will not be back

Room Tip: Basically to ensure any room at all, don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We Read many reviews prior to coming so we had optimism before arrival. Overall can not pick a single fault with the experience! The room was perfect, spacious with brilliant decor. The views are also a highlight along with the food. Will definitely be staying again !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A one night stay mid-week which was fabulous. We ate in the bar, rather than the restaurant and the food was first class. Great varied menu. The room was clean and cosy and amazingly quiet. Great attention to detail in the décor and good shower. Breakfast was great and included in the price, filled us up for the day! Would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Just had the one Saturday night stay and what delight. Great location and views. The room we had was very cosy and clean overlooking the main road and wasn't at all troubled by any traffic noise. Didn't have an evening meal due to a visit to the Picturedrome so had a beef sandwich after check in and I've got to say I couldn't fault it as with the breakfast. Will be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bodgitsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: Greenfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntsman Hotel Holmfirth
The Huntsman Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing