We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palatial home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmfirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Stoney Bank Guest House
Ranked #9 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We recently ventured to the area to see a musical performance at the famous Holmfirth Picturedrome and spent two nights at this delightful country house bed & breakfast on the outskirts of Holmfirth. We simply could not have chosen better.... The Full English and continental breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, the house and gardens are magnificent with wonderful views,beautifully furnished bedrooms, a huge residents lounge with inviting open fire, comfortable seating, a dining hall and a conservatory. The whole house has a very high standard of decor and the fact that it remains a usable and comfortable space is a testament to the considerable skills of Anne Autun the highly witty, entertaining and positively enchanting lady owner. Nothing was too much trouble and we truly felt as if we were staying with friends.
I highly recommend this accomodation and the the Old Stoney Bank experience to anybody visiting the area and will definately return myself when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We only stayed for 1night as we were meeting friends for dinner.
The views and surrounding areas are wonderfull.the garden is a maze to wander
We were welcomed by the owners son and shown to our amazing room.
After dropping off our bag we went down stairs and met the owner.
It was just like being in a friends house. You were made to feel at home.
The house is amazing ,filled with upholsted furniture to a high standard, photos of the family and beautiful furniture.
The owner had to go out, so just left us in her home with a front door key to let ourselves in when we returned.
Unfortunately we did not stay for breakfast as we had to return home as the snow was getting worse.

The atmosphere was fantastic. If you ever get the chane to visit this B&B I would highly recommend it

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A friend booked us into this guest house as we were attending a dinner in Holmfirth. The house and gardens are impressive and I imagine in spring & summer extremely beautiful. Our bedroom was enormous as well as the bathroom and the bed exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and the selection along with the homemade jams and fruit superb.
Our stay was very brief and we did not spend much time at the house however there were sufficient rooms and outdoor spaces should you wish to relax along with newspapers and tea if the owner Annie is around. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Talk to Annie when you book to see what is available. All rooms have a private bathroom but one is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DunBrokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed with Anne (and Jerry and Harvey) for one night whilst we were having a second view on our new house in the area. Anne really is the most welcoming host and we felt immediately welcome on a very cold and wet November afternoon when we arrived. The house is beautiful and our room just as lovely - gorgeous furniture, very comfy (and glamorous!) bed and spotlessly clean bathroom. Our dog was made just as welcome as we were!

Breakfast was tremendous with an array of fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereals and full cooked English to satisfy the biggest of appetites.

Anne really runs her B&B as a home from home and I can't recommend this enough if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area - you will not be disappointed!

Thanks Anne!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Just returned from a stay at Old Stoney Bank where we had a warm welcome from Anne and Ian.
The accomodation is lovely with fabulous furnishings and modern en suite.
There was a variety of choice at breakfast from fresh fruit to a full english- perfectly cooked by the hosts.
We will definately return again and highly recommend a stay!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kali79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Me my husband and our dog stayed here in September and were overwhelmed by the friendliness and generosity of Anne and Ian the owners. We arrived at midday and was greeted by Anne like long lost friends, as Anne settled us she made us feel so at home. Her knowledge of the area was great, she gave us instructions into town an told us where we would be welcome with our dog. The house itself was immaculate and so beautifully furnished it really is 5 star ! the outside terrace is perfect for taking in the beautiful views.... It was so peaceful. Breakfast was amazing with a selection of fresh fruit an yoghurt followed by a cooked ' English 'breakfast using local produce this was accompanied by a never ending supply of toast which was needed to try all Anne's home made jams an chutneys which were delicious. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend old stoney bank to anyone who would like a luxury stay in holmfirth. Thank you Anne and Ian ...... Louise Chris an Billy the dog

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Looby309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here for one night to go to the Edge of The Peaks festival in Holmfirth. Lovely clean accomodation, great breakfast (plate full of fruit & the homemade jams a lovely touch), and great hospitality. Would definitely recommend it & stay there again if we go back next year

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegreatsofnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holmfirth hotels
1.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
896 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.9 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stoney Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stoney Bank Guest House

Address: Stoney Bank Ln | New Mill, Holmfirth HD9 7LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a hill one mile outside the picturesque town of Holmfirth and set in eight acres of woodland, the Old Gardener's Lodge self catering holiday cottage commands views over the mill pond. You will also enjoy views over the terraced gardens that date back to the 19th century. The accommodation consists of lounge, kitchen/diner on the ground floor with en suite master bedroom, twin bedroom and family bathroom offer luxurious accommodation during your stay. The space Built over 200 years ago the former Mill owner's property reflects the traditional architecture of the time whilst offering the most cosy and spacious accommodation. Guest access Guests can use walk through the woods and grounds to enjoy the splendour of the Old Gardeners Lodge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Stoney Bank Guest House Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing