We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmfirth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Stoney Bank Guest House
Ranked #9 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
North Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Situated on a quiet road outside of the centre of Holmfirth we had a little difficulty finding it but just one phone call and Anne was outside waiting for us.
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived in a beautiful country house furnished to a very high standard. The sitting room is delightful.
Nice bedroom and en-suite with a spacious shower and good hot water pressure which is almost a rarity in England. A charming owner and crazy but adorable dog.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toone463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having been recommended to us by friends, we decided to give Old Stoney bank Guest house a try .Pleased we did, because it is one of the best places we have visited.
Warmly greeted by owner Anne and made to feel at home from the outset, in her beautiful house. Luxurious furnishings equalled only by 5* hotels. Found everything very clean and comfortable (especially the bed). Initially thought it was a little strange not having locks on the bedroom doors, but soon relaxed and felt like we were staying in a friends house.
The house is in a beautiful setting, with a large well-stocked garden. Would like to return in the summer when it is at its best. Enjoyed breakfast in the conservatory. Choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juice and of course full English, not to forget toast and delicious homemade jams.
Enjoyed the large lounge with log burning stove and Sky TV. So comfortable, Tony fell asleep in one of the armchairs!
Thanks again Anne, we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We spent a perfect night in this beautiful B and B. Our host Anne was fabulous - extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was a delight. A huge room with stunning views over the garden. The freestanding bath was an added bonus. Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent. Fresh fruits and yoghurt followed by a delicious cooked breakfast.
A wonderful stay! We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Auriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having driven around most of New Mill trying to find the place, we found it. A haven of rest, peace, a loopy dog who was lovely, then we entered the home of Anne.
It's almost a 'manor house' in furnishing, yet just comfy. Superb WiFi again, all over the house. Beautiful gardens and area, one strange tree that goes up with no limbs for about 60 feet and than goes wild.
Saw bats, squirrels, owls.
Breakfast was superb, try the home-made jams on your toast!
Anne was welcoming, and really open. We talked on all sorts of subjects and traded (true) stories. Her local knowledge is also boundless.
This is most definitely a re-visit, providing I can find it again :)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

You really feel as though you are staying in someone's home: luxurious furnishings, bounding dogs and no locks on the doors adds to the country home vibe. Anne is always near and cooks a superb breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestYorkshireTeaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A beautiful house set in a quiet area within reach of easily accessed villages around. The owner Ann has been very welcoming, the hospitality has been excellent. B&B facilities very clean nicely presented.Breakfast there was lovely lots of choice offered. We would visit there again and fully recommend a visit yourselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms were spacious. There is no swimming pool room service is not included but Ann does ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevenfmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here over a weekend in July and had the most lovely and relaxing break. The house and the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The bedroom was a perfect size and the bed was so comfortable with lots of pillows and a nice soft mattress. The best part of our stay was the breakfast cooked by Anne who is a fabulous host and a great cook! The breakfast is served in the conservatory and is very varied with lots of nice things to choose from including fruit, fresh yoghurt, eggs, breads, honeys and jams. Great coffee and Tea. If you fancy splurging on a meal out we would recommend the Spiced Pear for lunch. It was pricey but the food was pretty special. We will definitely be back, thank you Anne! You deserve the number 1 spot ;) xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holmfirth hotels
1.2 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
785 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stoney Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stoney Bank Guest House

Property: Old Stoney Bank Guest House
Address: Old Stoney Bank Stoney Bank Lane | New Mill, Holmfirth HD9 7LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Stoney Bank Guest House offers you a very warm and friendly welcome and luxury accommodation, all within easy reach of Holmfirth, Huddersfield and other Pennine towns and villages in West Yorkshire. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation is available in beautiful twin or double bedrooms which can also be booked on a single occupancy basis. Bedrooms have either en-suite shower room or have sole use of a large private bathroom. All rooms have access to multi-channel TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Two of the bedrooms are also available as a suite suitable for a family or two couples. The suite has a large lounge area with great views over the fishing lake and gardens. The elegant guest lounge provides comfort and entertainment with Sky TV, DVDs and for the proficient there is a piano for those who enjoy making their own entertainment. There is also a selection of games including chess and other board games. Breakfast is served in the conservatory when the weather is warmer or in the dining hall at other times. Built on a slope and set in over eight acres of garden and woodland, this luxury Guest House commands prime views over the fishing lake, formerly a mill pond, that forms one of the many features of the extensive grounds near the picturesque town of Holmfirth. The landscaped terraced gardens, that were created in the 19th century, are currently being renovated but even now provide a tranquil and inspiring setting. Old Stoney Bank Guest House is within a mile of Holmfirth in the beautiful Holme Valley in West Yorkshire, about 15 minutes drive from Huddersfield and just north of the Peak District. Many people stay with us when visiting the Holmfirth Picturedrome which is fast becoming a favourite music venue in the north of England. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Stoney Bank Guest House Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing