We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute perfection! Couldn't ask for any more!”

The Fox House Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers. Carvery and bar menus served in a traditional country setting. A la'carte private dining available in the restaurant. NOTE: OPENING HOURS ARE: CLOSED MONDAY (EXCLUDING BANK HOLIDAYS) TUESDAYS TO FRIDAY 11.00AM - 2.00PM 6.00PM - 9.30PM SATURDAY 11.00AM - OPEN ALL DAY 10.00PM SUNDAY 12NOON - OPEN ALL DAY - 9.00PM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection! Couldn't ask for any more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here a few times before during the week we decided to visit the Foxhouse for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. Even though it was busy the extremely helpful and friendly staff soon found us a table. We decided on the carvery which was delicious and plentiful (lots of choice as well), having considered one of the many specials on offer my husband eventually settled for the mixed grill off the menu which was lovely and it was nice to know that the chips were homemade and the meat locally sourced. We both had desserts; I had a wonderful homemade trifle and my husband had a homemade sticky toffee pudding which was divine. We were absolutely thrilled with our first visit on a Sunday and we will be returning several times in the future to try out some of the dishes on offer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    92
    36
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not get chance to sample the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Having read all the glowing report of above we looked forward to our evening/meal out at above on sat.20th july. WE walked into a dark gloomy pub and wondered at 8pm,the lights needed to be switched on. It then dawned on us that there was a problem with the electricity.
Luckily, we had sense to ask before ordering a drink whether food would be available.The bar was lit up and the mine host did not think to tell us that meals would not be on the agenda.
They had sent the waitresses home as the electrician still had not arrived by 8.20pm.
Better luck next time,i guess!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank brightpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMillas, Owner at The Fox House Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

On Saturday 20th at around 7.30pm we had a full house, restaurant, bar all areas a normal saturday no problem until half of the power to the pub cut off rendering the kitchen bar and some other areas incapacitated. We then phoned the service engineer we employ on contract and until he arrived we had gone through the standard procedure for such an event with no luck prompting us to place a call to yorkshire electricity as a emergency fault. The problem lay solely at the door of an external transformer belonging to Yorkshire electricity which had a line fault on the blue phase this explained why 2/3rds of the pub was without power, the kitchen is a newly built state of the art professional work place and runs on 3 phase power if it detect a minor fault it will shut down protecting the staff that work in it and the public that it serves, complying with all health and safety regulations which is required by law. At one point there were 3 teams of engineers working on the fault, power was returned to us at around 11.30pm.

This is something that was totally out of our control and we did everything possible to salvage the evening for those customers who still decided to stay with complimentary drinks etc..and those who choose to leave we compensated in full.

A decision was made to stop food orders as obviously we had no way of cooking them and I personally and my team will not lower our standards potential damaging our reputation that we have worked hard to get and maintain, I would rather take the loss then upset our valuable customers.

I’m not sure how you know that staff were sent home but you are correct two members of a 30 strong team were sent home early these were young newly recruited members of the team and as such did not have the experience or knowledge to meet the remaining customers needs in such a crisis.

It was obvious that there was a problem on that night and we do welcome all feedback, good or bad but to actually rate us “poor” on a situation that was out of our control is not very constructive for anyone, dine with us first and if there is a problem let us know then on the night preferably so that we may have the opportunity to address the issue and satisfy you to make the experience an enjoyable one which makes you want to return as so many of our customer do, then post a review about your visit.

I do hope you visit with us again

Kind regards

Michael Millas
head chef/owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystras, Greece
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place has to be good because it really is in the middle of nowhere.

Once very very popular with the older generation which meant you couldn't get in before 8.00pm at weekends never mind find a car parking space, it now seems to be attracting a wider age range of predominantly local people.

The food is always exceptionally good made from predominantly locally sourced ingredients with a twist. The only complaint i would have is the array of dishes all your food come in, this is Yorkshire... just put it on a plate please!

A wide range of real ales are served and the biggest improvement over the last few years has been the addition of bar staff to ensure the wait for liquid is not as atrociously slow as it once was.

The deserts are fabulous if a little generous in portion (shouldn't complain really).

The Fox House mysteriously doesn't open for very long at lunch times which on occasion dissuades us from driving up there.

The management always seem to find well above average waiters and waitresses which is surprising given its remote location. Well done to whoever finds them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusureitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recentley had our wedding reception at the pub, everything was EXCELLENT the staff could not have been more helpful the food was fantastic,the whole wedding party agreed how good everything had been.Would recommend to any one, we had a perfect day. Al & Sue

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great food, very well presented , not high end dining but doesn't pretend to be ,unlike some in the area , would recommend to anyone .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox House Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Hepworth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox House Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing