We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox House

The Fox House
Ranked #25 of 76 Restaurants in Holmfirth
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional British country pub just outside of Holmfirth serving a modern British menu from local suppliers.Carvery and Bar Menus served in a traditional country setting.A la'carte private dining available in the Restaurant.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the Foxhouse this weekend with friends. We booked a table in the main bar area lucky we did as the place was heaving
We all had different meals from the carvery , burgers , mixed grills , fish baskets all excellent and prices are great for the quality that you get.
See you again very soon

Helpful?
Thank Maisie1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    87
    35
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Much better close by”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not much to say really - food was tasteless and the soft drinks were more expensive than alcohol. There are much better places to eat close by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good family eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Can be very busy at weekends, i have eaten here several times and always found it to be good value. If you are a food snob then maybe its not for, they have not worked out yet that if the portions were smaller they would sell more deserts,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good ales. Not overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A nice pub traditional country pub, with a log fire, nice atmosphere and good food. Can get busy, particularly Sundaylunch, so often worth booking. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food excellent!! Toilets let this place down!! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We frequent this place at least twice a month. The food is all fresh made,so there is sometimes a waiting time. The carvery a feast for the eyes. certainly not for the fainthearted. As I am a vegetarian,there isn't much choice. The fish meals though are a plenty. my favourites are the Haddock and Chips or the Fish pie(you can ask for it without prawns) if you don't like. My only gripe is the state of the toilets!! They are in definate need of a overhall. Tiles falling of the wall. Wobbly toilet seats. Wet,slippy floors from leaking water. Toilet doors don't close. Freezing cold area for washing hands. Not big enough bins for hand towel diaposal(so ends up strewn on the floor) The main eating area has been decorated in the last year. So hopefully it won't be long before the toilets are done too.

Helpful?
Thank RSL3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Fox House also viewed

Hepworth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing