We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a great location”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Stonewell House

Stonewell House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stonewell House
Another View of Stonewell
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Stonewell House
Another View of Stonewell
Part of the Large Garden Area
Large Hot Tub Located on large Patio Area,
Patio Doors from Lounge open on to the Balcony
Balcony and seating from main lounge with fabulous views
Modern Open Plan Diner
Open Plan Modern Kitchen
Main Lounge
Huge Bathroom Stunning!
Walk in Monsoon Shower
His n Hers Sinks and Large Bath
Twin Beds in the Large Family Bedroom
King Size Double in the Large Family Bedroom
Large Modern Triple Single Bedroom
King size Double bedroom with Adult Size Bunk Beds
Jack & Jill Bathroom with Jacuzzi Bath and Shower.
Guest WC 1 of 2
Modern WC
Entrance Lobby with Pool Table
View From Bedroom Window of the Holme Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomo1964
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed here with two other families and once we'd drawn lots to agree who had which room, had a great week. The top floor bathroom is fantastic with an open shower and views over the valley at one end and a free standing bath at the other. All the bedrooms are great, apart from the bottom floor room with no windows - but this was fine for the smaller boys - bit of a Harry Potter room! We found ourselves making most use of the communal kitchen/dining room which is very sociable - only using the lounge for some quiet time (or watching sport). The ladies and kids loved the hot tub - which was well used despite the wind and rain during part of our stay.

The house is well equipped with plenty of stuff for a large group - although we did find ourselves running out of cutlery before anything else. We had a problem with one of the two toasters, but Andrew replaced it the same day.

Holmfirth is a short walk down the hill - slightly longer back up! Make sure you try the Nook for great beer, and there are some great walks both direct from the house and with a short drive.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Hill up from town
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel b
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good house, steep location,”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The house is lovely and a great size, location nice but is in a very steep part of town, air conditioning not working in the main bedroom, which was not good when we stayed in July as this is a loft room and extremely hot, ice machine on fridge not working either, stair carpet a little dirty too with hand rail off which I mentioned too owner on arrival, we got £10 took off our deposit for a stain on the towel which I thought was totally out of order, anyone should be able to get a stain out of a towel in this day and age, the towels were old dry and thin anyway, on the first night we used the hot tub and in one hour it was like a dirty pond, not nice at all, it was clearly not new water for our arrival.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
I am pleased you liked the house, I am sorry if the location didn't meet with your approval, but you were aware that the house is situated in the Holme Valley and should have been obvious that here in Yorkshire we have some of the most beautiful countryside in the UK and without any hills it wouldn't have the same appeal or attraction. People who come to stay at Stonewell are aware through the many photographs which are on various web sites that the house must be in an elevated position in order for it to enjoy the fantastic views!
We do not advertise that the house has air conditioning, the fan on the wall in the master bedroom you are referring to is for hot air for the winter months. You never asked me about this during your stay.
There was one single stain on the stair carpet which we were aware of caused by the previous guests, since removed but i cannot understand why you have mentioned this in your review.
The towel you have mentioned wasn't just one single towel it was a whole collection of them which had red wine. lipstick and other substances on them which could not be removed and I only charged you £10 which you happily agreed to pay by email exchanges after you had left.
The ice maker does work, you just didn't read the notice on the freezer which tells you to fill the water container up with fresh water, in any event we provide ice cube making containers so you are never without ice. Again this is something which wasn't brought to my attention while you were staying.
The water in the hot tub was fresh clean water as it always is for all of our guests and as you are well aware was not cloudy when you arrived, the reason it became this way was because the rules of the use of the hot tub had not been respected by your group, i found cigarette tabs in the water filter and judging by the amount of used bottles and cans of alcohol which you left on the patio for others to clean up would explain why. Regardless of this I changed the water for you during your stay even though it was your group who had caused it to go cloudy!
I hope potential future guests can see past this review as it appears to me that there is a bit of ill feeling from this guest because we had to deduct a small token fee to replace the towels that they had soiled. We dont like to do this but the way this particular guest left the property was not what we usually find I am afraid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living area with Kitchen an dining table
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the large hot tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining kitchen
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub also catered for all ages
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tyne and Wear
Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in April 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing