We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iconic Last of the summer wine pub.”

The White Horse Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Iconic Last of the summer wine pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Anyone who likes the comedy Last of the summer wine will be familiar with this great Yorkshire boozer.Although the pub has been updated since the show ended after over 30 years there are plenty of photos doted around the bar/lounge of the White horse to keep the most avid fan happy !. The accomodation is extremely comfortable in the White horse as is the bar and lounge areas in the main pub area and the food and drink is just as good !.A great place to stay especially for fans of the show being only a short trip from Holmfirth town centre and the lovely surrounding hills.Enjoy !!.

Room Tip: All rooms are both comfy and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiffy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    19
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a review of lunch, not B&B. This pub was apparently used in the TV show "Last of the Summer Wine" and therefore features on the oldie-bus tour. 3 of us therefore popped in for lunch : my wife and father having the 'special' which is 2 courses for £5.95 : soup/pate and roast lamb ; I had meat & potato pie with onion rings as a starter. We had 3 different pints of real ale, all 4 available being under 4% for some reason.
The food was excellent, as was the ale.
The pub was VERY quiet, and the landlord was not THAT talkative, and seemed embarrassed that the pub had previously featured in a TV show, but we felt welcomed enough.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale-and-Ros-Rumbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The couple that run this place are a bit strange.
They gave us (and others that stayed the same night that we did), that they didn't want us there.
Very unfriendly, and if I asked at the bar for a coffee, the woman sighed loudly, rolled her eyes, and gave the impression that I'd inconvenienced her by asking for service.
The room was reasonable, and was clean. The bed was very comfortable.
The en-suite however, was obviously an after-thought. It was tiny! Not even a hook or a self on which to put a towel. And the shower was luke-warm at best.
Breakfast was bizarre.
One couple, from a party of four, arrived at the bar in the morning, ordered breakfast, and were happy enough with their full-english and tea.
10 minutes later, when the second couple arrived, at the same time that my wife and I arrived, we were told that breakfast had finished (it was 08:00hrs).
We were served coffee, very grudgingly.
Would I stop here again?
Never.
I'd rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P12HAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here because we we're doing a Triathlon nearby and wanted a restful night. We got just that and much more; the steak, ale and blue cheese pie was so good, we actually came back to the hotel for Sunday lunch after the race.

The owners and staff couldn't be more welcoming and everything was really reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed one night for a gig at the Picturedrome in Holmfirth. Really nice location, really friendly owners and rooms very clean and good as a base for discovering the local area. We didn't stay for a meal or breakfast but the menu looked really good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My friend and I went for lunch this week and I have to say that our initial intent was to go to a place not far from the white horse but it was closed... mores the pity. The man behind the bar was very unwelcoming, we ordered our food and after a long wait, what a dissapointment!!! My pie was very salty and the chips were frozen. My friends fish cake was very greasy and unappetizing.. I definetly won't be going again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We made the trip to Yorkshire to see band at Hepworth Village Hall. We stayed for one night and although the weather wasn't the best we had a great time. Our room was large, clean and although it was quite basic it provided everything we needed. The only down side was the bathroom was a bit small and the shower took a while to heat up. The food in the pub was great (both the evening meal and the full english breakfast) and we found the staff very friendly and with a good sense of humour. The food was very reasonably priced and of good quality.

I have already recommended the B&B to several other people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
1.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: Scholes Road | Jackson Bridge, Holmfirth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The white horse pub once famous for the last of the summer wine.now fully refurbished to a high standard serving home cooked food Monday to Sunday.Why not stay here for a relaxing break where you will always find a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing