We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures atmosphere of the village”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Arkadelphia AR USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Captures atmosphere of the village”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One should not attempt to compare the Old Bridge to a luxury independent or chain hotel that was constructed for just that purpose. However, the owners have done quite well in adapting a very old former home into the much-needed (and only) hotel in Holmfirth. There are some drawbacks to the location, such as lack of parking and noisy neighbors on weekend nights, but these are beyond the hotel’s control. Also, there are some nights when air conditioning would be welcome but this has seldom been an issue for me. However, on the plus side, the hotel is located in the center of town just a few steps from four bus stands, is clean and comfortable, has excellent food and a staff that always makes me feel welcome. Thanks Rachel, Rebecca, Sarah, and all the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackArkadelphiaARUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    273
    101
    45
    25
See reviews for
109
431
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just back from a night away at the Old Bridge been on several occasions and never been disappointed. Bedrooms are all really quirky and different and this time got the "honeymoon" room, very nice bathroom and a balcony. The breakfasts are exceptional and could feed a family of 4. Staff are more than helpful and your made to feel really welcome, highly recommend it and will definitely be staying again. Its right next door to the Picturedome venue which has some great bands on, perfect location.

Room Tip: Every room I've stayed in has been fine no matter whether its at the back or the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in the box room! could not open the door fully because it hit the bed! Stayed in a room at the front of the Pub/Hotel when the nightclub finished the singing in the street went on until 2-3am. The food was great though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild-trak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

As US fans of the long running British comedy LOTSW we wanted to visit the village where it was filmed. This hotel is the ideal place to stay to do this. The hotel is located across the street from Sid's Cafe and is a very old building in a village with lots of very old buildings. As such it has charm and some inconvenience due to it's age. Dated rooms, no lift, no A/C (but windows for lots of air). The restaurant is a pub with pub grub which we found to be surprisingly pleasant. We were able to walk to all the major filming spots in town which was just what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septuagenerian_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Heven't eaten here for a while just popped in for a sandwich, wish I hadn't, horible dry bread and my 7 year old had to endure the usual smiley faces and and cheap sausages.
They really need to step up to the mark there are loads of places to eat in holmfirth one cannot afford to be complacement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulhuduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here as the hotel has an excellent central location and we were attending a 40th birthday party nearby. The staff were very friendly on arrival. The rooms are dated and could do with a refresh especially the bathroom which for some reason only had scalding hot water available although there were warning notices all over. The rooms were too hot and necessitated having the window open which was not ideal as they are also a pub.
Breakfast was nice as was their coffee - suggest they change their sausage supplier though as they were awful. All in all not a bad place but need to sort out their heating and hot water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We opted for this because of its central location. However, I have got to say the experience was all a bit 'pubby', by which I mean with groups of drinkers outside in the car park, if you're at the front, you get both the cigarette smoke and noise coming up to your room - pretty much all day and night. Add in the noise from the other nearby pub and the lack of decent ventilation/a/c and it's probably not the most comfortable or restful of stays we've had. But it was well priced, the staff were efficient and, generally, we were OK. Basically, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odysseus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
545 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
736 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#7 of 12 in Holmfirth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing