We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went to the newly refurbished old bridge hotel on a Monday evening.
The renovations have really changed the old bridge to the new bridge, but unfortunately it's still the same old bridge food and service.
We ordered a "dirty" burger,a chicken burger,2 kids chicken goujons and a kids mini sausage and mash.
These came after about half an hour(it wasn't busy in fact only another table was eating),missing the mini sausage and mash!!!!
We told the waitress who explained that it must have been miss wrote on the order and would a basket of chips be ok whilst we waited for it.
Well that was great as the other kids meals only had 4 chips on each!!!!
Finally the mini sausage and mash arrived and mini , well they were not joking, 4 chipolata sausages mash and no gravy.
Two adults meals three kids meals a round of drinks £50 lighter we won't be going back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The village of Holmfirth is just lovely and quaint and this hotel is well known for it's large sized meals. I found the food to be tasty and in come cases presented in an unusual way. The service was good and overall it was an enjoyable time. There is a car park not far away and there is a river nearby with ducks and only a short walk to the main street and the shops. Certainly a good place to stay if you are thinking of visiting Holmfirth.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Today i visited the Old Bridge Hotel Holmfirth, I have been many many times before the change and enjoyed every visit, change has now happened for the good but i must say service not very good.
Had a meal in the main dinning area and found service lacking had to keep trying to catch some bodies attention every time we wanted service once seated we were forgotten.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Decided to try lunch as I had a relative visiting. Didn't book but hoped we'd get in by going early. We were in luck and the girl at the front desk pushed two tables together as there were nine of us including three children.
The new decor looks fresh and clean, the bar as been moved and looks great. We were in the top half and had plenty of room around our table.
We were given menus and asked for our drink order, good choice of lagers and real ale. The menu was ample and there was a good specials board. Good selection for vegetarians as well. Kids are well catered for as they have their own menu.
We went for burgers which were great and the kids had home made fish fingers, great to see they were home made and not out of the freezer. Others chose the small roast dinner which was massive and fish and chips which I'm told were also very good.
The staff throughout we're helpful and polite, crayons were given to the kids to do some colouring.
We will certainly be going back soon as we had a very enjoyable lunch

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank JOHNHEPPENSTALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have eaten in the restaurant many times and had faultless service and meals every time but Thursday evening was exceptionally different. I booked my daughters birthday tea party there as she loves the recent renovations. We arrived at 5pm for pre surprise mocktails which aren't on the menu but the staff did us proud and the girls thought they were amazing. My daughters birthday cake failed to arrive but the Manager and staff quickly stepped in and to my amazement made her a birthday cake that she could cut after the meal - to me that was not only customer service but its was going that extra mile despite it being a busy evening in both the restaurant and the bar. Thank you very much for making it so very special for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recently visited The (new) Old Bridge having never been inside before even though I lived in Holmfirth. What a little gem! The renovation is fantastic and would not feel out of place in a city wine bar, and the food was fantastic with a great menu choice and some funky little grazing plates that are ideal for sharing if you want a lighter snack. The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient, and we were asked if everything was okay on more than one occasion. It really is great to see good quality food combined with equally as good quality service in somewhere as busy as this - a lesson quite a few of the swanky city bistros could really do with learning. Have returned a few times for drinks and look forward to eating here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We bought an Amazon voucher and stayed here for 2 nights. The room was lovely and clean, decorated really nice and had everything we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fantastic, full English, cereal, juice, croissants, couldn't ask for more. We also had dinner one night and it was delicious. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Hope to visit again very soon! - have to say that the coffee's were fantastic too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
646 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 11 in Holmfirth
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#9 of 11 in Holmfirth
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 11 in Holmfirth
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range: £63 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing