We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

good refurbishment. for starters we had the goats cheese mushrooms-very tasty. mains was poached salmon house salad with sweet potatoe fries-very fresh. other mains was the double dog, nice but less cheese and crispier fries would have been better. 2 soft drinks and a large glass of wine came to £44. will go back. Paul our waiter was very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuloulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    258
    97
    43
    24
See reviews for
100
389
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I like the Old Bridge and tend to visit every couple of months. They have had a major refurb in the last 2/3 months and it is very nice - particularly outside. Food choice and quality is generally very good (bit dearer I think, and not sure that it is as good as it was). I have visited twice since the refurb first with my mum for lunch, the second time with hubby for an evening meal - both visits were in May.

For our lunch trip mum and I both had Lasagne, it arrived served on a wooden block, with skinny type chips in a mini frying basket and a small mound of rocket - hmm ! Lasagne was a generous portion, but no nicer than pre-refurb where I recall a choice of salad (not just rocket) and veg/potatoes. The dish was £10 and enjoyable enough, the emphasis though seemed more on a trendy presentation than actual meal content.

Hubby and I visited a couple of weeks later for an evening meal, he had already heard from someone who had visited (not impressed with their food being served on a block of wood !) and fancied seeing the changes. Again he was impressed by the refurb and eager to try the food !
This time I had the piri piri chicken which was good, hubby opted for the dirty burger both came with coleslaw, fries and the clump of rocket.

Perhaps it is us, for some meals such as burgers etc the wooden block presentation would be ok, but I like a meal on a plate and I prefer a choice of what it comes with (that doesn't seem to exist anymore) I am sure that previously you had a choice of potatoes/veg/salad. It is not particularly cheap here and I am not sure we will visit as often - we are not rocket fans, we like our veg !

Staff were lovely (so pleasant and helpful), and the service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family and I are frequent eaters to the old bridge! While the refurb is very nice the food however is not the same! All the meals have gone up in price and have shrunk in portions! I think they are trying too hard to make everything look nice and fancy with the selection of small dishes and the beautiful decor in time for the 'Tour de France' passing through bringing in the masses of tourists! Forgetting that the locals won't be there to keep the place running when it's all over! It's a shame!

Helpful?
Thank RSL3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arkadelphia AR USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Old Bridge Hotel in the center of Holmfirth has recently undergone an extensive renovation of the entire ground floor, making the interior more modern and open with better lighting, and added a very attractive additional seating area outdoors. My wife and I have stayed here many times but this was the best yet. There seemed to be more staff than ever, all very pleasant and eager to serve. The number of items on the restaurant menu seems to have been reduced, though adequate, and everything I ordered was excellent. The manager, Rachel, makes everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackArkadelphiaARUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic location in the Centre of holmfirth. Rooms were lovely. Hot shower. comfy bed.plenty of tea/ coffee free tolietres . Hair dryer. Iron and iron board . E.xcellent breakfast plenty of choice. Good location to walk round . Would stay here again x

Room Tip: Rooms facing over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We went to the newly refurbished old bridge hotel on a Monday evening.
The renovations have really changed the old bridge to the new bridge, but unfortunately it's still the same old bridge food and service.
We ordered a "dirty" burger,a chicken burger,2 kids chicken goujons and a kids mini sausage and mash.
These came after about half an hour(it wasn't busy in fact only another table was eating),missing the mini sausage and mash!!!!
We told the waitress who explained that it must have been miss wrote on the order and would a basket of chips be ok whilst we waited for it.
Well that was great as the other kids meals only had 4 chips on each!!!!
Finally the mini sausage and mash arrived and mini , well they were not joking, 4 chipolata sausages mash and no gravy.
Two adults meals three kids meals a round of drinks £50 lighter we won't be going back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The village of Holmfirth is just lovely and quaint and this hotel is well known for it's large sized meals. I found the food to be tasty and in come cases presented in an unusual way. The service was good and overall it was an enjoyable time. There is a car park not far away and there is a river nearby with ducks and only a short walk to the main street and the shops. Certainly a good place to stay if you are thinking of visiting Holmfirth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
2.2 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#3 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing