We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to go”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to go”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just spent 2 days/nights at the Old Bridge Hotel in the superior Room 27 (18/19June).
Positives:
a. Absolutely lovely setting and view.
b. Staff ever so helpful and friendly.
c. Food fantastic and ever so reasonable.
d. Met some great people from USA and New Zealand. It appears to be a magnet for overseas visitors which we found fantastic.
e. Went on local bus trip around "Last of the Summer Wine" locations where it was filmed. Cost is £8 per head and lasts about 45 minutes. Thought it was expensive at first but realised it was actually very good value. Not to be missed. Trip owner operates opposite the hotel but will only go if he has enough customers (takes 11). See photo's.
f. Excellent bus facilities right outside the hotel. Went to Huddersfield (35 mins) and found it an excellent shopping area.
Negatives:
a. Although a superior room (27), it was ever so hot (although a fan was provided). The outside flood light shone through to the bedroom all night and as the bathroom door was warped, it also allowed light to come through via the bathroom window into the bedroom. Not what we expected in a superior room costing us an extra £20 per night!
b. Note that the water pressure in the showers is low and consequently not as powerful as at home, probably.
c. Parking at the hotel is difficult with only about 15 spaces all up. However, there is a carpark opposite which only charges 60p for 2 hours. No charge after 4pm and before 8am. How fantastic is that? Ideal to go there 1st and then move across when the time is right, normally about 4pm.
Conclusion:
Great place to go. Will book again (note Amazon deals!) but unlikely to stay at the superior room unless the lighting and bathroom door are fixed.

Room Tip: Normal rooms are quite small. Superior room 27 has the problems I've highlighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    273
    101
    45
    25
See reviews for
109
432
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a good stay here. The staff were all very professional, friendly and efficient, especially Dan, who was very helpful. There is a real buzz about the hotel and it seems popular with locals and visitors alike. The food was also great value for money and we would be happy to return in the future. Unfortunately despite the fan provided the room was exceptionally hot at night.

Paul and Ann Fewson

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Not a particular hot day but hotel was roasting. Restaurant was very hot but room was stifling. Couldn't open skylight window due to noise levels ( directly below the outside seating area which was very busy late into night). Cant understand it as no heating on.
Room was OK other than that and this seems the most up market and busy hotel in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Take some ice backs with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel looks great after its re-vamp the bar and restaurant are much improved, making it a pleasure to visit for a drink or something to eat. Had a sandwich at lunchtime the filling was beautiful poached salmon, the only let down for me personally was it being served in a teacake, could a more elegant alternative be provided please!
Lets hope the toilets get a makeover soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My Dad lives in Honley and as it was his birthday I wanted to take him for a nice lunch within local distance to him that served nice home made food. I don't live in the area so was unsure where to go. We saw the hotel from across the bridge and thought it looked wonderful with the open seating area outside near the river, as it was a very warm day- how inviting!

As we hadn't been before we went straight to the bar to order a drink and enquire about eating outside.We were met at the bar with a smile and a warm welcome, which doesn't happen much these days unfortunately. The lady took her time with us, offered to let my Dad try out an ale as he hadn't tasted it before and explained the menu to us if we were sitting outside. We took the menus outside and sat ourselves at a table of our choice. We then went back in to order once we had decided.

The food was just what i was looking for and my Dad enjoyed his too- as he is quite often sticks to what he knows. It was fresh, well presented, tasted lovely and we had a really nice afternoon. We weren't rushed to leave when we had finished eating and got to enjoy the lovely surroundings.

We enjoyed pulled pork, fish fingers and olives for starters to share, followed by a chicken ceasar salad and hickory chicken as our mains- All of it was beautiful!!

Thank you to the staff for a lovely reception and food. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & wear
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay, the room was small but had everything we needed, very clean comfy bed, toiletries and plenty tea, coffee and biscuits. Our room was overlooking the seating area at the front, it was quite noisy, however this did not bother us. If you want a quiet room ask for room at the rear.
The breakfast was gorgeous, lovely fresh bread, fruit, yoghurts and a variety of pastries. Also the cooked breakfast was excellent.
We would definitely return. One little fault ( there was no information folder in the room).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I went to The Old Bridge yesterday for lunch with my sister. The refurbishment looks great and will help them during the Tour de France. As you walk through the door it says please wait to be seated, we waited for a good 5 minutes without anyone coming so decided to sit down ourselves. I had the pulled pork sandwich with cheese and BBQ sauce, which was disappointing. My sister had the hallumi, pesto and sun blushed tomato sandwich which came without any sun blushed tomatoes. Service wasn't great either so won'tbe returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
545 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
736 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#7 of 12 in Holmfirth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing